The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: health (JW)
Record 9 of 172

System Number: 03079
Date: [December 1879/January 1880][1]
Author: JW
Place: Venice
Recipient: William Graham[2]
Place: Venice
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 74
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS

I am very bad my dear Graham - throat frightfully ulcerated and painful - ought to have a Doctor - who would you recommend!- will you kindly tell Francesco[3]

The doctor[4] ought to know that it is a case of throat so that he may come prepared to paint it with solution of nitrate of silver or whatever it is -

Dear me I have had too many Sottoporticos[5] for my health! - If you are wandering at all this way do come in - What do you think of Richetti[6] if that be his name - ? If you like to bring the Californian[7] with you, do so -

Always yours

[butterfly signature]

[p. 2] Signor Graham
Fondamenta dei Felze[8] [sic]

`Whistler treated this Physician (not Richetti but the one we sent him) very rudely and I told him so. (no fatal consequences from this encounter)'

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [December 1879/January 1880]
Dates from shortly after JW arrived in Venice. References to the illness recur several times, particularly in JW's letter to M. B. Huish in late January (#02992).

2.  William Graham
William Graham (1841-1910), artist [more]. The letter is written in pencil.

3.  Francesco
Francesco, possibly JW's gondolier in Venice.

4.  doctor
The note on p. 2 regarding the doctor is written by Graham. See also Graham's reminiscences, dated 3 March 1908, which are in the Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, DC).

5.  Sottoporticos
Ital., archway or tunnel, the sort of place JW would sit to etch.

6.  Richetti
Richetti, probably a doctor.

7.  Californian
Graham himself was from California, so this may have been someone visiting him.

8.  Fondamenta dei Felze
Fondamenta dei Felzi is a short quay, in Canareggio, just north of the Grand Canal. The letter was sent by hand, with no envelope.