The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: social
Record 8 of 51

System Number: 01634
Date: [September 1874/March 1875?][1]
Author: JW
Place: [Liverpool][2]
Recipient: Alfred Chapman[3]
Place: [Liverpool]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler F566
Document Type: ALS

[embossed monogram:] 'FRL'

Dear Jack -

Pray make my compliments and thanks to Miss Emmie[4] - but I needed no inducement beyond the pleasure of seeing yourselves to strengthen your kind invitation - only I cannot with any certainty accept it yet awhile - However I shall soon I hope have finished my work or at least have got it so near it's [sic] completion that I may manage to leave the studio earlier and then [p. 2] if you will have me I shall only be too glad to spend the evening with you - By the way did I make what I meant about the picture[5] clear?

I want it to lean forward [towards] you very much more and then it will be quite perfectly seen from every part of the room even with the glass on -

[drawing[6], labelled:]

c    a


a b. as it is
c d. as it should be -

Ever yours

J A McN Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [September 1874/March 1875?]
This letter follows immediately after #09605.

2.  Speke
JW was visiting Frederick Richards Leyland (1832-1892), ship-owner and art collector [more], and family, at Speke Hall near Liverpool (see #09605).

3.  Alfred Chapman
Alfred Chapman (1839-1917), engineer and collector [more].

4.  Miss Emmie
Probably a relative of Chapman.

5.  picture
JW had suggested that a framed and glazed painting, possibly Nocturne: Blue and Gold - Southampton Water (YMSM 117) or Nocturne: Battersea Reach (YMSM 160), should be 'bent very much forward' (see #09605).

6.  drawing
The diagram, drawn in pen, consists of three lines, one vertical and two radiating from the vertical (labelled a-b and c-d).