The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: health (JW)
Record 5 of 172

System Number: 08997
Date: 20 August [1868][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: [Ford Madox] Brown[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: St Andrews University Library, St Andrews
Call Number: ND467.B8
Document Type: ALS


2 Lindsey Row
Old Battersea bridge

Thursday Aug. 20

My dear Brown

I had hoped that tomorrow I should have had the pleasure of your company at dinner with Gabriel[4] and William[5] - but I have been quite ill since I saw you and am still in the hands of the doctor; he is however about to release me and if you are not better engaged for next [p. 2] Tuesday will you dine with me on that day? -

If you can come before dark, at about 6. or half past five, we might look at some sketches[6] I have been about, and I should like to show you the picture[7] I am working on -

Yours sincerely

J. A. McN. Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  20 August [1868]
Dated from day of week.

2.  Ford Madox Brown
Probably Ford Madox Brown (1821-1893), painter [more].

3.  3/10/
Written in another hand.

4.  Gabriel
Dante Gabriel Rossetti (1828-1882), artist and poet [more].

5.  William
William Michael Rossetti (1829-1919), civil servant and critic [more].

6.  sketches
Possibly JW's series of female studies 'The Six Projects' (YMSM 82-87) (excat 11). They had recently been seen by W. M. Rossetti. He recorded in his diary on 28 July 1868: 'Whistler is doing on a largish scale for Leyland the subject of women with flowers, and has made coloured sketches of four or five other subjects of the like class.' See Rossetti, William M., ed., Rossetti Papers, 1862-1870, London, 1903, p. 320. 'Leyland' was Frederick Richards Leyland (1832-1892), ship-owner and art collector [more].

7.  picture
Perhaps The Three Girls (YMSM 88). See note above.