The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: etching exhibition
Record 5 of 41

System Number: 00640
Date: [1872/1876][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Alan Summerly Cole[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler C141
Document Type: ALS

2 Lindsey Houses -
Chelsea -

My dear Allan [sic],

It is no use I am sorry but Thursday I am I not to have the pleasure of dining with you and your brother[3] - I told you that I knew there was some thing some where in the week and of course it is on thursday - However when the work is over we will go - Of course you will look in on Sunday at the usual time -

Yours [truly?]

J A McN Whistler -

'6[2?] [word illegible]'[4]

[p. 2] You ought to set this right -

Naturally six etchings[5] are not enough to represent me - though any one migh[t.] Still there ought to be 30 - Cannot you say there shall be thirty! -
? -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [1872/1876]
Dated from address. JW lived in 2 Lindsey Row from February 1867 to June 1878, and most letters written with that address date from between February 1867 and July 1870 (although some are as late as September 1876). However, occasional letters between August 1871 and October 1876 were written as from 'Lindsey Houses'.

2.  Alan Summerly Cole
Alan Summerly Cole (1846-1934), textile expert and museum official [more].

3.  brother
Cole, unidentified.

4.  '6[2?] [word illegible]'
Written in another hand in pencil in lower left corner, possibly upside down, the number reading, in that case, '19'.

5.  six etchings
JW's recent etchings included landscapes such as Speke Hall, No.1 (K.96) and portraits as The Velvet Dress (K.105).