The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: law
Record 41 of 280

System Number: 08741
Date: [16 September 1878][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: James Anderson Rose[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 4/16
Document Type: ALS

Dear Rose -

I went down to see you on Saturday - and will come down to Salisbury Street this afternoon at 5. o'clock to half past -

Unless you will get into the penny boat[3] and come and lunch with me at 2 o'clock - in the White House[4] - [p. 2] You get off at the Cadogan Pier and John[5] who brings this will explain where the house "finds itself" -

Ever Yours

J A McN. Whistler

Dilke Street[6]
Tite Street
Victoria Hospital

[p. 3] 'Whistler[7] 16 Septr 1878.
re Ruskin[8]'

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [16 September 1878]
Dated from J. A. Rose's note on letter.

2.  James Anderson Rose
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].

3.  penny boat
Possibly a ferry service run by the London Steam Company in this area of the Thames. Cadogan Pier was at Chelsea Embankment.

4.  White House
JW's new studio house at Tite Street, Chelsea. It was possibly Rose's first visit to the White House.

5.  John
John Cossins, JW's valet [more].

6.  Dilke Street ... Hospital
Pencil note probably in the hand of J. A. Rose. Dilke Street was around the corner from Tite Street and ran parallel with Chelsea Embankment. The Victoria Hospital for Children was at Queens Road.

7.  Whistler ... Ruskin
Written in the hand of J. A. Rose.

8.  Ruskin
John Ruskin (1819-1900), critic, social reformer and artist [more].