The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: collecting
Record 38 of 43

System Number: 07829
Date: [24/28 February 1897?][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Elizabeth Robins Pennell[2]
Place: London
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 272/8/1
Document Type: ALS[3]

Dear Mrs Pennell -

Here is the last from Gilbert[4] - That will be all right though directly -

When is your wandering husband[5] coming back? -

I was so pleased to hear from Dicker[6] that you had been there, and [p. 2] had seen our garnets - Did you not think them beautiful? -

When shall I come down to hear more news? -

I am leaving Whitehall Court[7] tomorrow - so you might write a line to 8 Fitzroy Street

With kindest regards
Always sincerely

J McN Whistler

No Kinsella[8] as yet! -

This document is protected by copyright.


Mrs. Joseph Pennell
14. Buckingham Street
London -


1.  [24/28 February 1897?]
Dated from the address; JW stayed with Heinemann at Whitehall Court throughout February 1897, but seems to have left towards the end of that month. Also dated from the reference to a letter recently received from Herbert Gilbert, (23 February 1897, #11102). The date '[1897, July?]' is (erroneously) inserted in another hand at the top of the sheet.

2.  Elizabeth Robins Pennell
Elizabeth Robins Pennell (1855-1936), née Robins, JW's biographer [more].

3.  ALS
The paper has a deep mourning border.

4.  Gilbert
Alfred Gilbert (1854-1934), sculptor [more] (see #11102).

5.  husband
Joseph Pennell (1860-1926), printer and illustrator, JW's biographer [more].

6.  Whitehall Court
Home of William Heinemann (1863-1920), publisher [more], where JW was a frequent visitor.

7.  Dicker
Robert Dicker (ca 1827-1900), silversmith [more].

8.  Kinsella
Louise Kinsella (d. 1923), patron of JW [more], who posed for Rose et vert: L'Iris - Portrait of Miss Kinsella (YMSM 420) between June 1894 and 1898.