The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: collecting
Record 32 of 43

System Number: 00240
Date: 18 March 1891
Author: John Chandler Bancroft[1]
Place: Boston
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler B14
Document Type: ALS

61 Mt Vernon St
Boston Mass

March 18. 1891

Dear Whistler

I want to recall myself to your memory after thirty years & if you are in London to have shortly the satisfaction of knowing more of your latterday work - The little I have seen makes me wish to see more: & if there is not a disproportion between one of your masterpieces & my means, which unfortunately have a truly republican instability, I hope to carry one back them with me[2] -

I expect to be housed in London at the Bath Hotel Piccadilly with my family about April 2nd [p. 2] & how long we stay is a question of weather & climate - We have had all the Arctic we want here already - I wish if you are in town you would let me know when you are willing, if at all, to be invaded.

I send you through the post thinking they may interest you two natural marines[3] in "blue & silver" -

Sincerely yours

John C Bancroft

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  John C. Bancroft
John Chandler Bancroft (1822-1907), politician, diplomat and collector [more].

2.  carry one back with me
On 8 June 1891 Bancroft bought Arrangement in Black: Girl Reading (YMSM 223).

3.  marines
Not identified.