The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: oil painting, display
Record 28 of 64

System Number: 04255
Date: 3 September 1891
Author: William Ernest Henley[1]
Place: Edinburgh
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler N12
Document Type: ALS


3 / 9 / 91[2]

My dear Whistler,

I was too busy to write, & Whibley[3] had just departed these premises, when your telegram arrived. So I just posted it on to him; as no doubt you already know.

He will tell you about things in general on Sunday.

That "Golden Girl"[4] of mine is three years old to-morrow. I [wish?] I could trot her up to you for inspection - immortality - que scays-je[5]? But I fear it cannot be yet. 'Tis pity, for she is just now in the rarest form, & her colour is really indescribable.

Your conduct at Liverpool[6] is [p. 2] really devilish. I shall spare no pains to find (or make) oppo occasion to say so, & to prove my words - In truth I've played more tricks with the British Artist than most; but & if I am spared to engineer this last & best, I shall die happy -

Yours Ever,


This document is protected by copyright.


1.  William Ernest Henley
William Ernest Henley (1849-1903), journalist, poet and writer [more].

2.  3/9/91
Double underlined.

3.  Whibley
Charles Whibley (1859-1930), writer and journalist [more].

4.  Golden Girl
Margaret Emma Henley (1888-1894), daughter of W. E. Henley [more].

5.  que scays-je
Fr., what do I know? The spelling is antiquarian.

6.  Liverpool
21st Autumn Exhibition of Pictures, Corporation of Liverpool, Walker Art Gallery, Liverpool, 1891. JW, in his hanging of a room, had grouped pictures by subject (see #06595).