The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: nationality, US
Record 23 of 26

System Number: 08373
Date: [10 October 1895][1]
Author: JW
Place: Lyme Regis
Recipient: David Croal Thomson[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC
Document Type: ALS[3]

Royal Lion - Lyme Regis

Dear Mr. Thomson -

I told Prange[4] that the "Cottage[5]" is worth at least 300 gs but that I would take 250. gs. down. net. and that he could ask what more he liked -

Now this "Cottage" is as you must know a morsel that has been hitherto missed - It has never been exhibited - It is one of those things that the people who are buying the known Whistlers [p. 2] would jump at - It is in splendid condition - and probably the only "landscape" - not that I promise to do no more -

Moreover there are conditions that may trouble you -

1st. It must be sold to Scotsman American German Frenchman whoever you please - but not[6] to an Englishman -

2nd. There must be undertaking written to allow the picture to be exhibited in Paris at next years Champs de Mars - (or another where I please) and in London -

Now if you will agree to these conditions, I will take 200 gs down[7] - net - and you can ask what you like - But I will not take a penny less -

Also if you are not prepared to do this at once, I will be immensely obliged to you if you will give the picture over to Lauser[8], Garrick St. to be sent on immediately to Kennedy[9] New York (Messrs. Wunderlich) - Lauser is his agent - and this is what I told Prange -

[p. 3] You and Prange must settle together - If he gives up the picture to you, it becomes I should suppose your affair -

I asked Prange if he saw his way to doing this business at once - & if not to send it on to Lauser -

However the upshot is that I will take 200 gs. down to me - under the above written conditions - or the picture must leave the Country -

Very Sincerely

[butterfly signature]

What do you think of my Crimson Note[10] in New Gallery?

This document is protected by copyright.


D. C. Thompson
Goupil Galleries
5. Regent Street
[postmark:] LYME REGIS / D / OC10 / 95
[postmark on verso:] LONDON. [S.] W. / 5.15AM / OC 11 / 95 / 13


1.  [10 October 1895]
Dated from the postmark.

2.  David Croal Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

3.  ALS
'52C' is written in another hand in red ink at top left, '151' in pencil at bottom right of p. 1, and also on the envelope.

4.  Prange
Francis Gerard Prange (b. ca 1843), London art dealer [more].

5.  Cottage
Green and Silver: The Devonshire Cottages (YMSM 266), possibly painted between 1860 and 1863, was owned by William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more]. JW was selling it on his brother's behalf. Thomson declined to buy it.

6.  not
Double underlined.

7.  down
Triple underlined.

8.  Lauser
Gustave Lauser (b. ca 1841), London print-seller [more].

9.  Kennedy
Edward Guthrie Kennedy (1849-1932), dealer with H. Wunderlich and Co., New York [more].

10.  Crimson Note
Crimson note: Carmen (YMSM 441), on show at the 5th Exhibition, Society of Portrait Painters, London, 1895.