The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: nationality, US
Record 22 of 26

System Number: 05044
Date: 21 July 1895
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Francis Gerard Prange[1]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P684
Document Type: ALS

110. Rue du Bac - Paris

July 21 - 1895 -

Cher Directeur -

Now thats all right - The [painting] has gone as I wired - and I have your note this morning to say that you have insured it -

You are going to make all your efforts with Americans - Germans if you like - or Scotshmen [sic] - but I don't [p. 2] want as I told you my pictures to remain in England - any more than Englishmen have hitherto wanted to possess my pictures! -

Voila! -

However, as you say, this is the excellent moment for business - and we will see -

If you don't succeed in a certain time we will send on the painting[2] to New York - or Pitsburg [sic] - I will let you know -

With all wishes for best luck,
Always sincerely

[butterfly signature]

Ask little Thomson[3] to tell you the story of his letter to me asking for my signature upon my portrait for Mr. McCulloch[4] -

Or did I tell you myself? -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Francis Gerard Prange
Francis Gerard Prange (b. ca 1843), London art dealer [more].

2.  painting
Arrangement in Black: Portrait of Señor Pablo de Sarasate (YMSM 315).

3.  Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more]. JW had written to him saying that the picture was signed, [11 July 1895], #08305.

4.  Mr. McCulloch
George McCulloch (d. 1915), landscape painter [more], had bought Arrangement in Grey: Portrait of the Painter (YMSM 122).