The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: war
Record 19 of 44

System Number: 10685
Date: [January/February 1900?][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Jay[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC
Document Type: MsLc

Dear Mrs. Jay,

This terrible weather has made it utterly impossible for me to come up, as I had hoped to do, some evening, and talk over the wonderful things that have been going on ever since!

I do hope your husband[3] is quite well, and enjoying the extraordinary pranks and gambols of the British Generals[4]! We must wait till this blizzard leaves before your pilgrimage to the studio. Meanwhile I remember your most perfect dinner from which it was so wrong of our host to absent himself.

With kindest regards to you both,
Very sincerely,

J. McNeill Whistler.

You know they will never get Ladysmith[5]!

What do you think of Buller's[6] despatches!?

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [January/February 1900?]
Dated by reference to Ladysmith (see below).

2.  Jay
Mrs Louis Jay, a social acquaintance of JW [more].

3.  your husband
Jay, a friend of Jules Stewart, involved in organising an exhibition in Antwerp [more].

4.  British Generals
JW supported the Boer side during the Boer War (1899-1902).

5.  Ladysmith
The siege of Ladysmith by the Boers had lasted from the end of October 1899; it was relieved on 28 February 1900.

6.  Buller's
General Sir Redvers Buller (1839-1908), British army commander [more]. See also JW's letter to M. Heinemann, #08531.