The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: decoration, house
Record 18 of 26

System Number: 05142
Date: 21 November 1892
Author: Alexander Reid[1]
Place: Glasgow
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler R41
Document Type: ALS



21st Nov 1892.

Dear Mr Whistler.

I left Paris last Monday morning but being in London a week got your wire & Mrs Whistlers[2] letters[3] only this morning. I shall of course do everything in my power to make the "Whistler Exhibit" a success. & shall await hearing from the Secretary[4].

I am impatient about the "Fur Jacket[5]" & trust you have instructed the Munich people to send it me direct as soon as the Exhibition is closed.

By the way I happened to be in Melville's[6] Studio on my way through London & he was [p. 2] asking for you all. He had a letter from the Rathbone's[7] (of Liverpool)

They are to be in Paris in a few days & wanted your address, which I was able to give him.

With kind regards to Mrs Whistler et sa soeur[8].
Yours faithfully

Alex Reid.

Tell Mrs Whistler I wandered up & down Great Portland St in a drizzling rain searching in vain for the maker[9] of those curtains, "but no such animal the meadows cropped."

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Alexander Reid
Alexander Reid (1854-1936), Glasgow dealer [more].

2.  Mrs Whistlers
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

3.  letters
#11639, #11637.

4.  Secretary
Of World's Columbian Exposition, Department of Fine Arts, Chicago, 1893; possibly Benjamin Butterworth (1837-1898), politician, secretary to the World's Congress Auxiliary of the World's Columbian Exposition [more].

5.  Fur Jacket
Arrangement in Black and Brown: The Fur Jacket (YMSM 181). It had been in 6th Internationale Kunst-Austellung, Munich, 1892.

6.  Melville's
Arthur Melville (1855-1905), watercolour painter [more].

7.  Rathbone's
Philip Henry Rathbone (1828-1895), collector [more] and his family.

8.  sa soeur
Fr., her sister; i.e. Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].

9.  maker
Alexander J. Taylor (b. ca 1848), upholsterer [more], whose business, Alexander Taylor and Sons is listed in the London Post Office Directory of 1893, at 167 Great Portland Street, London, W. See #03235 and #11640.