The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: health (JW)
Record 168 of 172

System Number: 10660
Date: 11 February [1903][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: William Richman Farquhar[2]
Place: [London?]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 1/34/26
Document Type: ALS[3]

74. Cheyne Walk.
Chelsea -

My dear Farquhar.

Of course I should be delighted to see you & Mrs Farquhar[4] - but I am more or less laid up at present! - Can't go out at all - I mean neither dinner lunch nor the rest of it - So that this will [p. 2] have to be put off until you pass through town again -

I suppose you are going to stay a bit in England - and I do hope to see you both - I wrote to you last year at the time of the then coming festivities thinking we should meet!

I send Your note has only just reached me, & I send the envelope because I suppose you gave it to the porter at the hotel on Saturday[5] to send by hand - and he has checked it into the post on Tuesday!

I have taken this house here on the Embankment for the present - and if you & your wife - to whom my most devoted compliments - will come in say tomorrow afternoon at about 5 o'clock I should be delighted -

Always very sincerely

J McNeill Whistler

Wednesday morning. Feb. 11.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  11 February [1903]
Dated from the address, and the almanac.

2.  William R. Farquhar
William Richman Farquhar (m. 1897), husband of Marion Farquhar [more].

3.  ALS
Mourning border.

4.  Mrs Farquhar
Marion Farquhar (b. ca 1872, m. 1897), née Peck [more].

5.  Saturday
Double underlined.