The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: collecting
Record 15 of 43

System Number: 02612
Date: [November 1878?][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Arthur Lasenby Liberty[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler L146
Document Type: ALS

You are too really kind and nice my dear Mr Liberty - and in the midst of everything[3] it is most charming to meet with such delicate consideration -

I am horribly annoyed to think that through any difficulties of mine you should be at all inconvenienced - Will you [p. 2] come down to me on Friday morning at about half past 10 - to 11 - or Saturday at the same time? - and we will see what can be done -

Very faithfully Yours

J A McN. Whistler

The White House -
Chelsea Embankment -
Tite Street -

The first turning to the left past the Chelsea Hospital.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [November 1878]
This letter dates from after JW moved to the White House in late September 1878, and probably from shortly after Liberty's bill in November 1878 (#08946).

2.  Arthur Lasenby Liberty
Arthur Lasenby Liberty (1843-1917), designer, founder of Liberty and Co. [more].

3.  everything
JW was a regular customer of Liberty's Oriental Warehouse at 218 Regent Street, and owed him money (see #11926, #02612, #02613). Liberty generously allowed JW further credit, as by 14 September 1878 there were three bills outstanding (see #08740).