The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: war
Record 15 of 44

System Number: 02022
Date: 15 January 1900
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Charles James Whistler Hanson[1]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler H123
Document Type: ALS[2]

[Chatham coat of arms with motto:] BENIGNO NUMINE
HOTEL CHATHAM, rue Dannon.


Jan. 15. 1900.

Dear Mr. Hanson -

I am staying at this hotel for a while - which accounts for this odd card -

The Doctor[3] tells me that he has seen you lately - and I gathered that you were well - which is an excellent thing! -

This is by way of wishing [p. 2] you both the best possible New Year! - with health & success & what is called Luck - which comes to those who - don't wait for it!

Perhaps I may run over to London - but I am not likely to cross the channel just yet - Tell me what you are doing - and for Heaven's sake, has Charley Singleton[4] been drafted into any regiment? and has he trusted himself to those poor bewildered British Generals!?? -

With kindest messages to your wife[5],
Always affectly

J McN. Whistler

Let me know at once whether you receive this safely -

Better wire "Whistler. Chathamel. Paris. Yes."

This document is protected by copyright.


[Chatham coat of arms with motto:] BENIGNO NUMINE

[registered letter:] Recommandée[6]

Charles Hanson. Esq
11. Great Ormond Street
24 Harrington Sq
London. W. C.
N. W.
[postmarks x 2:] PARIS 80 / R. DES[SSAYE?] / 9 E 15 / JAN / 00
[postmarks x 2:] REGISTERED / LONDON. W. C. / 8.30PM / 16 JA 00 / 9
[postmark on verso:] REGISTERED / LONDON / W. C. D. O. / 6 PM / JA 16 00
[postmark on verso:] REGISTERED / LONDON N. W. / 10.15AM / 17 JA 00 5

[black wax seal on verso]


1.  Charles James Whistler Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

2.  ALS
The letter has been forwarded and re-addressed. The original address appears to have been written in a mixture of JW's and another hand

3.  Doctor
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

4.  Charley Singleton
Possibly Charles James Singleton, Jr (1841-1918), accountant [more], or a younger relative. JW was alluding to the Boer War (1899-1902), a bitter dispute between Britain and the two Boer (Afrikaner) republics, the Transvaal and the Orange Free State.

5.  your wife
Sarah Ann Hanson (b. 1874), née Murray, JW's daughter-in-law [more].

6.  Recommandée
Triple underlined.