The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: architectural plan
Record 15 of 22

System Number: 04057
Date: 15 May 1878
Author: George Vulliamy[1]
Place: London
Recipient: Edward William Godwin[2]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler M328
Document Type: ALS



15 May 1878

Mr Whistler's House
Chelsea Embkt

My dear Sir,

I personally inspected this House on the first of this month & found hardly anything done as regards the additions agreed[3] to be made to the Elevation[.] I had another inspection [p. 2] made yesterday & have the report before me which states that slow progress is made in these additions

I will report to the Com[mitt]ee on Monday & await orders

Mr Whistler has no reason to complain[,] he has acted all through in a most unbusiness like way [p. 3] in progressing with the Works without authority from the Board & in direct violation of the Conditions for letting the land to him which he signed

Yours faithfully

George Vulliamy

E Godwin Esqre Archt
Victoria Cha[mber]s

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  George Vulliamy
George John Vulliamy (1817-1886), Superintending Architect with the Metropolitan Board of Works, London [more].

2.  Edward William Godwin
Edward William Godwin (1833-1886), architect and designer [more]. Godwin was the architect of the White House, JW's studio house at Tite Street, then in the process of construction.

3.  additions agreed
The London Metropolitan Board of Works objected to the austere facade designed by Godwin. The Board withheld the lease on the land until JW and Godwin devised some additional decorative details for the street elevation of the house; these are the additions referred to here. Benjamin Ebenezer Nightingale (b. 1838), builder [more], claimed that the matter was in hand but Vulliamy was emphatic during his visits that the Board's requirements were met (see B. E. Nightingale to E. W. Godwin, 3 May 1878, #04297).