The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: health (JW)
Record 142 of 172

System Number: 10734
Date: 11 May [1901][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Carmen Rossi[2]
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 2/49/16
Document Type: ALS[3]

Samedi. le 11. Mai.

Carmen -

Je viens d'arriver - car j'ai fait un voyage par mer pour rentrer à Londres -

Votre lettre[4], donc - ne m'est parvenu que maintenant - et je me hâte de vous dire qu'il ne faut pas remettre votre voyage en Italie -

[p. 2] La santé avant tout Carmen! et j'attends de vos bonnes nouvelles! -

Vous nous reviendrez plus tard guèrie, et belle comme toujours! Carmen la belle Carmen! -

Ces deux mots en place d'une dépèche! car il est déjà tard pour le courier -

Ecrivez moi à la même adresse -
Dhu House.
36 Tite Street - London

Toujours, Carmen, votre ami

J McNeill Whistler

Les dames[5] vous envoient leurs meilleurs souhaits -

This document is protected by copyright.


Carmen -

I have just arrived - for I returned to London by sea -

Your letter, therefore - only reached me now - and I am in hurry to tell you that you must not delay your voyage to Italy -

[p. 2] Health comes first Carmen! And I await good news from you! -

You will return to us later recuperated, and beautiful as always! Carmen, the beautiful Carmen! -

This note [is] instead of a telegram! For it is already too late for the post -

Write to me at the same address –

Dhu House.

36 Tite Street- London

Ever, Carmen, your friend

J McNeill Whistler

The ladies send you their best wishes -


1.  11 May [1901]
Dated from the reference to JW's arrival; he had just returned from Corsica.

2.  Carmen Rossi
Carmen Rossi, model, proprietess of the Académie Carmen [more]. The Académie Carmen had just been closed on JW's orders.

3.  ALS
The paper has a mourning border.

4.  votre lettre
On 3 May [1901] JW mentioned a letter forwarded by Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more], but it has not been located; see #04808.

5.  Les dames
Frances Philip (1824-1917), née Black, JW's mother-in-law [more], and family.