The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: oil painting, display
Record 14 of 64

System Number: 03560
Date: 21 November 1889
Author: Charles James Whistler Hanson[1]
Place: [London]
Recipient: Elbert J. Van Wisselingh[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 7/97-98
Document Type: ALdS


Nov. 21. '89 -

Dear Sir -

Mr Whistler wishes me to write and say how very sorry he was not to have seen you while you were here in London.

Now that the Exhibition[4] in Amsterdam is closed, he says that you will see that keep the portrait of his mother[5] in your charge for the present instead of allowing it to come on to London.

He thinks it very likely that he may require the picture in Paris, however of this he will write you later, meanwhile kindly write and let him know that this is all clear and that you will if not inconvenient to yourself do as he wishes.

Have you anything to say about the Fur Jacket[6] if not and you should not wish to keep it, Mr Whistler thinks that it might perhaps go to America through Durand-Ruel[7] who has now American connections of importance and some of his clients or one of them certain have been asked already shown a desire to possess a "Whistler"

Yours truly

Charles J. J. Hanson

Van Wisselingh

[p. 2] '98'

P. S. Mrs Whistler[8] returned to Mrs Van Wisselingh[9] some books that she kindly lent her. Mrs Whistler hopes they arrived safely.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Charles James Whistler Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

2.  Elbert J. Van Wisselingh
Elbert Jan Van Wisselingh (b. ca 1848), art dealer [more].

3.  '97'
The ledger is paginated at top left in another hand.

4.  Exhibition
Tentoonstelling van Kunstwerken van Levende Meesters, Amsterdam, 1889.

5.  portrait of his mother
Arrangement in Grey and Black: Portrait of the Painter's Mother (YMSM 101).

6.  Fur Jacket
Arrangement in Black and Brown: The Fur Jacket (YMSM 181).

7.  Durand-Ruel
Paul Durand-Ruel (1828 or 1831-1922), Paris art dealer [more]. The firm had opened a shop in New York.

8.  Mrs Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

9.  Mrs Van Wisselingh
Isabel Van Wisselingh (b. ca 1860), née Angus [more].