The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: law
Record 13 of 280

System Number: 11035
Date: [18 September 1877][1]
Author: Horace Jee[2]
Place: London
Recipient: James Anderson Rose[3]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 2/48/93
Document Type: ALS

                   'Jee 18 Sept 1877'[4]
'Anderson Rose Esquire'

2 Lindsey Row

Dear Mr Rose

Jimmy Whistler is excited at my interrupting him over his work[5] with a man bearing [p. 2] the accompanying instrument - he bids me write you and you will hand it to one of your Clerks - Saying from him his sincere friend

Horace Jee

p.p. Jas Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [18 September 1877]
The date written on the letter in another hand is probably the date the letter was received.

2.  Horace Jee
Horace Jee, musician, JW's occasional secretary [more]. The letter was written by Jee on JW's behalf.

3.  James Anderson Rose
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].

4.  Jee ... 1877
'Jee ... 1877' and 'Anderson ... Esquire' are written at right angles in the left-hand margin in two different unknown hands. '93' is written in the top right corner in yet another hand; all documents kept by J. A. Rose were numbered.

5.  work
JW was painting or reworking several portraits of Maud Franklin, including Arrangement in Black and Brown: The Fur Jacket (YMSM 181). In addition, E. W. Godwin had recently begun to design a fireplace for the firm of William Watt, London, and proposed that JW should paint the dado surrounding it. Later converted into a cabinet, it is known as Harmony in Yellow and Gold: The Butterfly Cabinet (YMSM 195).