The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: paper, not specified
Record 11 of 37

System Number: 06594
Date: [15 June 1891?][1]
Author: JW
Place: [Paris]
Recipient: Beatrix Whistler[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W587
Document Type: ALS


Chinks I am off! -

Tomorrow I hope to make up for the journey with something that I may carry off from Dieppe - But who knows - You must do some Obi for me at once - For a few days in Paris always makes me rather depressed - the want of work I suppose - However it will all be to the good let us hope - and after all I have perhaps not absolutely lost the time - I have bought nearly three pounds worth of the most wonderful transparent lithograph paper! such as old Way[3] never dreamed of! - and such as [p. 2] I suppose I should never have seen in London - So that's all right - I went and called upon old Fantin[4] - and that is what came of it!! -

And now Chinkie Chinkie Chinkie! I hope all has been well with you during this long absence - and that the wolves are not waiting at the door! - William[5] must tomorrow urge Grau[6] to push on the little frames - They ought to be done - and we might get off Bancroft's picture[7] at once - Also by the way the Heckers[8] are almost due now - You might write a line to Mrs Hecker at their hotel (in Dover Street[9] I think,) for them to find on their return - telling them you hope they will let you know what day to expect them, so that we may not miss them again - About yesterday's dinner with Montesquiou[10] and the evening with the Countess[11] & her sister[12] I must tell you when I come -

Expect me my dearest Chinkie on Wednesday morning early -

Your own fond

[butterfly signature]

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [15 June 1891?]
This letter dates from immediately after one to Beatrix Whistler dated 14 June 1891 (#06593).

2.  Beatrix Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more]. JW calls her by his petnames, 'Chinks' and 'Chinkie', here.

3.  Way
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more].

4.  Fantin
Ignace-Henri-Jean-Théodore Fantin-Latour (1836-1904), artist [more].

5.  William
William Bell, JW's secretary [more].

6.  Grau
Frederick H. Grau (d. 1894/1895), picture framer [more].

7.  Bancroft's picture
John Chandler Bancroft (1822-1907), politician, diplomat and collector [more], bought Arrangement in Black: Girl Reading (YMSM 223) on 8 June 1891, and it was sent to Boston on 27 June.

8.  Heckers
Col. Frank J. Hecker (1846-1927), partner of C. L. Freer, Michigan and Peninsular Car Company [more], and his wife.

9.  in Dover Street
The remainder was written in the top and right margin of p. 2, at right angles to the main text.

10.  Montesquiou
Comte Robert de Montesquiou-Fezensac (1855-1921), Symbolist writer and poet, and collector [more].

11.  Countess
Elisabeth, Comtesse Greffulhe (1860-1952), née Riquer de Caraman-Chimay [more].

12.  sister
Not identified.