The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: finance, receipt
Record 10 of 35

System Number: 08725
Date: [5 September 1876][1]
Author: Virginia Vaughan[2]
Place: [London]
Recipient: James Anderson Rose[3]
Place: London
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 6B /9a
Document Type: ALS



'recd 5 Sept 1876'[5]


Dear Mr Rose

Please place the two enclosed receipts[6] with Mrs Brock Hollinshead's[7] bill.

Mr. Whistler called this morning to show me your letter[8] and requested me to say, should I see you, [p. 2] that he would like much to have you call at Mr Leland's house[9]. His dining room[10] is nearly completed and magnificent.

Very truly yours

Virginia Vaughan

J. Anderson Rose Esq.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [5 September 1876]
Tuesday, given as the date, was itself 5 September.

2.  Virginia Vaughan
Virginia Vaughan (d. 1913), translator of George Sand [more].

3.  James Anderson Rose
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].

4.  '8'
'8' and '59' written in another hand

5.  'recd 5 Sept 1876'
Written in another hand.

6.  receipts

7.  Mrs Brock Hollinshead's
Elisabeth, Mrs Brock-Hollinshead (b. 1856), friend of Virginia Vaughan [more].

8.  letter

9.  Mr Leland's house
49, Prince's Gate, London home of Frederick Richards Leyland (1832-1892), ship-owner and art collector [more].

10.  dining room
The dining room at 49, Prince's Gate. JW had been working all summer on a decorative scheme for the room, Harmony in Blue and Gold: The Peacock Room (YMSM 178).