The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: meal, breakfast
Record 9 of 91

System Number: 09443
Date: [July 1876/July 1878][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: [Algernon Charles Swinburne][2]
Place: [London]
Repository: British Library, London
Call Number: Department of Manuscripts, Ashley A.4603, f. 32
Document Type: ALS

96 Cheyne Walk -

Mon cher fils -

I am so sorry but I must run down to Hastings[3] and so am obliged to put off the breakfast tomorrow morning - I shall come round and see you some afternoon next week - meanwhile do you think I might on Monday send for the Mère Gérard[4]?

Ever yours

J A McN Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [July 1876/July 1878]
Dated from address.

2.  [Algernon Charles Swinburne]
Algernon Charles Swinburne (1837-1909), poet and critic [more]. Swinburne and JW's adopted mode of address for each other was 'Cher fils' (JW) and 'Cher père' (Swinburne).

3.  Hastings
Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more], moved to Hastings, Sussex, for her health on 8 August 1875 and remained there for the rest of her life. JW was not always attentive towards her and a deficient letter-writer, as he admits in a birthday letter to her (see JW to A. M. Whistler, [26 September 1876], #06564.

4.  Mère Gérard
La Mère Gérard (1) (YMSM 26). JW had given Swinburne the portrait, although later in life he regretted his decision (see JW to E. G. Kennedy, 12 June 1892, #09680: 'The Mère Gérard, was the other instance of folly I cited - the present I made to Swinburne.') JW may here have been wishing to borrow the picture for some exhibition (unidentified) or perhaps to improve upon its appearance.