The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: publication, pamphlet
Record 7 of 15

System Number: 09439
Date: [1/15 January 1890][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Julian Story[2]
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Private Collection
Document Type: ALS

Write to new address: 21. Cheyne Walk. Chelsea

Too bad of you Juliano -

They tell me that you were at the Beefsteak[3] as usual when you came to London this last time - Therefore you had the letter I wrote to you from Amsterdam[4] all right!

Why would you not answer! - I thought you would have been so pleased with the enclosed cutting from the N. Y. Herald[5] - my letter about Gen. Rush Hawkins[6]? - In any case I have heard nothing from you - and among the large number of congratulations from Paris, I certainly missed a note from yourself to say that you were glad I had the red ribbon[7] [p. 2] but not a word from either you or Waldo[8]!

However! - Now I want you to do this thing for me - Mallarmé[9] wrote some time ago about a small Hotel with two studios to let - in the Bois de Boulogne - Rent 3000 francs - The Proprietor is M. Chabrié[10] - à Bois d'Arcy - St Cyr. (Seine et Oise)

What I wish you would do is to go and look over the house - (It has also a garden) - and tell me whether you think it would do for us - I can't tell you more details as to its' situation, exact, but if you could make an appointment with Mallarmé 89. Rue du Rome, it would be very nice of you to go together - I will write to Mallarmé and tell him

And will you write to me? Mallarmé is the poet you know

he[11] translated the "Ten O'clock[12]"

With best wishes from us both[13] for the New Year,

[butterfly signature]

Get this weeks Truth[14] -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [1/15 January 1890]
Dated by address and reference to the New Year, and to publications (see below).

2.  Julian Story
Julian Russell Story (1850-1919), genre and portrait painter [more].

3.  Beefsteak
Beefsteak Club, private gentleman's dining club.

4.  Amsterdam
JW and his wife were on an etching trip to Holland in 1889.

5.  N. Y. Herald
JW's letter of 6 October, #11426, published in The New York Herald, 9 October 1889, about his exhibits at Universal Exhibition, Paris, 1889.

6.  Gen. Rush Hawkins
Gen. Rush Christopher Hawkins (1831-1920), U. S. commissioner for Fine Art at the Paris Universal Exposition in 1889 [more].

7.  red ribbon
JW had been made a Chevalier de la Légion d'honneur.

8.  Waldo
Thomas Waldo Story (1854-1915), sculptor [more].

9.  Mallarmé
Stéphane Mallarmé (1842-1898), Symbolist writer and poet [more].

10.  M. Chabrié
Chabrié, hotel proprietor, Bois de Boulogne, Paris.

11.  he
'he translated the "Ten O'clock"' was written in the right margin; 'With ... signature' upside down diagonally at top right of p. 2; and 'Get this weeks Truth' in the left margin of p. 1.

12.  Ten O'clock
Whistler, James McNeill, Le 'Ten O'Clock' de M. Whistler, Paris, 1888.

13.  both
JW and Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

14.  Truth
The letter from JW published on 2 or 16 January 1890.