The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: auction
Record 23 of 25

System Number: 09304
Date: [July 1899?][1]
Author: JW
Place: Pourville-sur-Mer
Recipient: William Marchant[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: University of Virginia Library, Charlottesville, VA
Call Number: Special Collections, Clifton Barrett Library, James McNeill Whistler Collection, #7958
Document Type: ALS[3]

Dear Mr. Marchant -

It is very nice of you to have written so completely, as you have done - and I am sure you will understand that I had no other feeling toward your house (whom I have always known as of the utmost courtesy and kind care,) than one of momentary surprise at the amount I had allowed myself to run up! -

I am [p. 2] glad I wrote to you - for I like your letter very much -

You must not conceive that I am in any way complaining - or could feel anything but the utmost satisfaction in all their dealings with me -

Also in this matter of the drawings sold, your way is the right way and the amount you said will be perfect -

I am pleased that Mr Freer[4] has these things - and also Mr Cowan[5] -

The Baronet's sale[6] was a wonderful spectacle - prepared especially for me! -

When I do come to town I shall certainly let you know -

Very faithfully Yours

J McNeill Whistler

Pavillon Madeleine -
Pourville-sur-Mer -
près Dieppe -

I think[7] it would be better if you pay directly into my account at Drummonds Bank, Charing Cross, instead of sending on cheque here -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [July 1899?]
Dated from the address. JW spent time at Pourville recuperating from illness between July and October 1899.

2.  William Marchant
William Stephen Marchant (1868-1925), art dealer [more]. His letter has not been located.

3.  ALS
The paper has a deep mourning border.

4.  Mr Freer
Charles Lang Freer (1856-1919), industrialist, collector and founder of the Freer Gallery of Art [more].

5.  Mr Cowan
John James Cowan (1846-1936), paper manufacturer and collector [more]. JW's letter to J. J. Cowan on the sale of Variations in Pink and Grey: Chelsea (YMSM 105), #00736.

6.  Baronet's sale
Sir William Eden (1849-1915), painter and collector [more]. The sale is unidentified.

7.  I think
This paragraph written in left-hand margin of p. 2.