The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: frames
Record 14 of 92

System Number: 09205
Date: [23 March 1882][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: George Aloysius Lucas[2]
Place: Paris
Repository: Baltimore Museum of Art, MD
Call Number: 21 folder, W-Lucas file
Document Type: ALS[3]

My very dear old Lucas -

You will I know be pleased to hear that I have sent a great work[4] to the Salon - The Goupils[5] have undertaken its care - and the case ought to arrive tomorrow in Paris - So go at once to their house - and get to see it before they send it into the Palais.

Now I want you to especially see to this for me - The frame requires a tablet gilded of course with my name upon it after the French fashion nailed over the name I have painted - and longer so that it will come in the proper centre - You [p. 2] will see that I have it a little to one side -

You know the kind of thing I mean - something like this

And then I was foolish enough to varnish the picture just before it went - so that what with the damp weather and the crossing, I fancy that it will have "bloomed" - so that the transparency of the back ground will have for the moment been lost - and a nasty blue sort of breath be over the whole thing -

Tell Goupil to gently rub it over with an old soft silk handkerchief until the polish comes back - and by and bye when in the Salon - the day before the opening they give are to give the whole picture a splendid coat of varnish -

Now my dear Lucas write me a full account of how you like this "Arrangement in Black No 5" - and all that you hear said about it - Madame[6] sends her love to you and Madam[7] - I shall I hope run over soon and come to see you

Meanwhile hoping you are quite well,

always affectionately Yours

J. McN. Whistler

13. Tite. Street. Chelsea.

This document is protected by copyright.


Monsieur George Lucas -
21. Rue de l'arc de Triomphe
Paris -
[postmark:] LONDON. S. W. / Z / MR23 / 82

'Whistler - 23rd March[8] 1882 - about picture sent to Goupil for salon -'


1.  [23 March 1882]
Dated as postmark.

2.  George Aloysius Lucas
George Aloysius Lucas (1824-1909), art dealer in Paris [more].

3.  ALS
Published in Mahey, John A., 'The Letters of James McNeill Whistler to George A. Lucas,' Art Bulletin, XLIX, September 1967, pp. 247-57, p. 255, Letter XXI.

4.  work
Arrangement in Black: Lady Meux (YMSM 228), exhibited under the title Portrait de M. Harrymen [sic], cat. no. 2687.

5.  Goupils
Messrs Goupil Fils, a firm of Paris dealers.

6.  Madame
Mary Maud Franklin (1857- ca 1941), JW's model and mistress [more].

7.  Madam
Octavie Josephine de Macedo-Carvalho (1833-1909), née Marchand, probable mistress of George A. Lucas [more].

8.  Whistler - 23rd March
Remainder of text written in Lucas's hand.