UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: animal, cat
Record 2 of 3

System Number: 09136
Date: [15 November 1889][1]
Author: JW
Place: [Paris]
Recipient: Charles James Whistler Hanson[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Published
Document Type: Ms/PLc[3]


['Giving a suggested form of letter for the borrowing of certain of his pictures for the Grosvenor Gallery Exhibition, after referring to Dr. Whistler ...']

[...] Ask Mr. Shannon and Mr. Rickett[4] with my compliments if they will be kind to the cats? - I wish they would take care of them - I wonder if they would mind? [...]

Tell William[5] that if he would like to go to any of his friends for a week or ten days, he might - for I have a horror of him hanging about in absolute idleness - [...]


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

J. C. Hanson [sic]
25 Margaretta Terrace
Chelsea
London -
[postmark:] ['Paris, 15th Nov. 89']


Notes:

1.  [15 November 1889]
Dated from postmark.

2.  Charles James Whistler Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

3.  Ms/PLc
Sale catalogue of E. Parsons and Sons, 1924, Catalogue 288, cat. no. 850, described as 2 pp., 8vo. There is also a transcription of the middle paragraph in an unknown hand (LC PWC).

4.  Mr. Shannon and Mr. Rickett
Charles Hazlewood Shannon (1863-1937), painter and lithographer [more], and Charles de Sousy Ricketts (1866-1931), painter and designer [more]. They appear to have taken up JW's tenancy of JW's house in the Vale, Chelsea, and were mentioned in #07999.

5.  William
William Bell, JW's secretary [more].