UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: collecting
Record 22 of 43

System Number: 09110
Date: [29/30 October 1886?][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Isabella Stewart Gardner[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum, Boston, MA
Document Type: ALS


Dear Mrs. Gardner -

Your visit has been most charming to me - and I only wish you carried away a more brilliant proof of my appreciation -

However you rather beat me in the hurry of things this time! - but you must give me my revanche[3] when I come to Boston - -

A propos I must show you a [p. 2] cutting I have from an American paper - really horrid!

You are coming to me you know and William[4] is to tell you that you are to fix your own hour, as Lady Collin[5] is not able to sit after all this afternoon! -

Do come while there is plenty of light - and I will try and find some more things to show you -

Always very sincerely

J McNeill Whistler

[butterfly signature]


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [29/30 October 1886?]
Dated by known visit of I. S. Gardner to Europe, and JW's letter to her dated 30 October 1886, #09116.

2.  Isabella Stewart Gardner
Isabella Stewart Gardner (1840-1924), née Stewart, collector [more], was posing for Note in Yellow and Gold: Mrs Gardner (M.1116).

3.  revanche
Fr., revenge.

4.  William
William Bell, JW's secretary [more].

5.  Lady Collin
Gertrude Elizabeth Campbell (1857-1911), née Blood, Lady Colin Campbell, writer, art critic and amateur artist [more], was posing for Harmony in White and Ivory: Portrait of Lady Colin Campbell (YMSM 354).