UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: oil painting, display
Record 24 of 64

System Number: 09036
Date: [1/2 August 1891?][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Alfred Chapman[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Art Institute of Chicago, Chicago, IL
Call Number: Walter Brewster Collection
Document Type: ALS[3]


21, CHEYNE WALK,[4]
CHELSEA.

My dear Jack -

I wish you would first of all get picture[5] out of Dowdeswells'[6] rooms - it can only do me harm - and I do beg that you will not dream of leaving it there during your month's absence - Couldn't you have it sent round to your brothers[7] at once? -

By the way are you staying there? [p. 2] and could you not look in here tonight or tomorrow morning as early as you like - say 9.30 - Or much better will you not come and dine with us tonight - 8 o'clk.

Always Yours

J McN. Whistler


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [1/2 August 1891?]
This letter appears to date from shortly after JW's telegram of [30 July 1891], #09041, and before #09035 (dated [3/4 August 1891?]), which suggests Chapman would arrive in London on 6 August 1891.

2.  Alfred Chapman
Alfred Chapman (1839-1917), engineer and collector [more].

3.  ALS
'5' is written at the top of p. 1 in an unknown hand.

4.  21, CHEYNE WALK,
The address is printed in yellow ink.

5.  picture
Pink and Grey: Three Figures (YMSM 89).

6.  Dowdeswells'
C. W. or one of his sons, Charles and Walter Dowdeswell, of Dowdeswell and Dowdeswell, art dealers.

7.  brothers
Dr John Chapman (1822-1894), London Metropolitan Free Hospital [more].