The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: health (JW)
Record 4 of 172

System Number: 08984
Date: [16/23?] March [1863][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: James Anderson Rose[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 2/46/2
Document Type: ALS[3]

7a[4] Queens Road West

Monday - / March

Dear Rose -

Any news about "my house"[5] - . Is it all right? am I wanted to take any step? or will it all be settled without me? Are you going to make him[6] do anything at all to the house and can I go in shortly when the agreement[7] is made

[p. 2] I have been knocked up for a couple of days with rheumatism but hope to get to work again tomorrow - I was very sorry not to see you the other day at Rosetti's[8] [sic] -

Will you drop me a line about the house.

With many thanks
Ever Yours

J Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [16/23?] March [1863]
Mondays fell on 2, 9, 16, 23 and 30 March 1863. This letter probably pre-dates the start of JW's lease for 7 Lindsey Row, which began on 25 March 1863 (#12160).

2.  James Anderson Rose
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].

3.  ALS
'2' is written in the upper left-hand corner in another hand.

4.  7a
'a' is double underlined.

5.  my house
7 Lindsey Row, Chelsea; JW moved into the house at the end of the month after some delay in the proceedings (#11856).

6.  him
Isaac Henry Keene, builder, landlord of 7 Lindsey Row [more].

7.  agreement
See Memorandum of Agreement, #12160.

8.  Rosetti's
Dante Gabriel Rossetti (1828-1882), artist and poet [more].