The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: shop
Record 6 of 7

System Number: 08972
Date: [February/September 1895?][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Mrs Boyt[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Hunterian Art Gallery, University of Glasgow
Call Number: GLAHA 46255
Document Type: ALdS

Saturday - 1. o' clock -

Dear Mrs. Boyt -

My wife is very poorly indeed today - obliged to keep in her room with severe cold & headache - and we are sadly disappointed - as she cannot go to you tonight -

If you will have me however by myself, I will bring you my own poor company -

With many regrets from Trixie[3]
Yours sincerely yrs


[p. 2, drawing:] THE BLUE BUTTERFLY[4]

[butterfly signature]

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [February/September 1895?]
In the winter of 1894-1895 JW's wife became ill with cancer and the Whistlers returned to England. During remissions she could have contemplated social engagements but by 1896 that would have been unlikely. The drawing on the verso dates from after her death on 10 May 1896.

2.  Mrs Boyt
Mrs Boyt, a social acquaintance of JW [more].

3.  Trixie
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

The pen drawing, The Blue Butterfly (M.1473), is a shop-front design, for a shop selling JW's work. He signed the lease for the shop at 2 Hinde Street on 2 April 1897. JW's rooms were on the first floor. Mrs Christine Anderson, manager of the 'Company of the Butterfly' [more], was inefficient, and the shop was often closed. It operated until 1901.