The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: finance, bankruptcy (JW)
Record 15 of 262

System Number: 08726
Date: 6 [July 1877][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: James Anderson Rose[2]
Place: London
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscripts Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 4/1
Document Type: ALS

Dear Rose -

I sent word to you this evening that I would go over to you at Wandsworth in the morning but I find that it will be impossible for me to manage it - So do not wait - I shall get down to your office as soon as possible instead -

Forgive my disturbing you in this way - The fact is that instead of waiting, the Sheriffs man [p. 2] came in today[3] - Child[4] tells me that he gave express orders that he should not do so until tomorrow! - It is very dreadful - I have £20 ready - and Child is willing to manage the matter if you will guarantee its being safe for three weeks - I certainly can then pay as I will explain -

Ever Yours

J A McN Whistler

Friday 6.

This document is protected by copyright.


James Anderson Rose Esq.
near Nightingale Lane
Wandsworth Common
[stamp:] [illegible]
[postmark:] LONDON S W / 7 / JY [ ] / 77

'Whistler 7 July 1877'


1.  6 [July 1877]
The postmark date confirms the one written on the letter, since 6 July was a Friday in 1877.

2.  James Anderson Rose
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].

3.  today
Double underlined.

4.  Child
Possibly Child, solicitor or agent for C.H. Keene.