UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: health (JW)
Record 121 of 172

System Number: 08581
Date: [October 1900/1902?][1]
Author: JW
Place: [Paris]
Recipient: William Heinemann[2]
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 2/1/11
Document Type: ALS[3]


'[c. 1902]'

My dear Heinemann -

I met your brother[4] the financier yesterday to my astonishment - for I had no idea that any of you were here -

I shall be back again directly - having only left for a few days change -

The truth is that I had overdone everything - Too much work without a moments rest had done the old trick! - I have been really [p. 2] ill! - though I would never acknowledge it - and all my work has been therefore quite in vain -

I do wish that I had followed your advice and gone off with you -

Of course I am a bit depressed and my rest is now enforced - without any pleasure -

However of this when we meet in a day or two

Always affectionately

J McN Whistler


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [October 1900/1902?]
Although dated '1902' in another hand, the content of the letter suggests that JW and Heinemann were in Paris. The reference to JW's health suggests a date late in 1900 before he went south to Marseilles. In 1902 JW was mostly in Bath or London, and would hardly have been so surprised to see Edmund Heinemann.

2.  William Heinemann
William Heinemann (1863-1920), publisher [more].

3.  ALS
The paper has a deep mourning border.

4.  your brother
Edmund Heinemann (b. ca 1866), stockbroker [more].