UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: sea pieces
Record 30 of 30

System Number: 08539
Date: 20 [February?] 1901[1]
Author: JW
Place: Ajaccio
Recipient: William Heinemann[2]
Place: [Paris?]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC
Document Type: ALS[3]


Ajaccio - Corse -

My dear Heinemann -

How are you? and are you then coming away again? that is what I make out of your hurried first letter - If so, why this time you had better take the train direct to Marseilles and come on here straight -

Nice, Monaco and all the rest are in a very bad way - We hear every day -

The thermometer at those places [p. 2] from 9 to 13 degrees below zero! - - and miserable creatures arrive here from the midst of snow! -

The boat from Marseilles for Ajaccio leaves on Saturdays and Mondays at 4. o'clock in the afternoon - and you are here the next morning by about 8 - So that you see is excellent -

It was very nice of you to see to all that about the little marines with Fox[4] for me - and I hope you understood my wire - You see the post here is most irregular - and often letters are at least four days - and there are days when no letters leave the place at all for "the Continent" as they call it -

May's[5] outcome after these years don't seem to be an excuse for all the trouble it has given us! - It is very kind of you to have wound him up for me - and of course I want you [to] subtract from the total, the sum due to Bedford Street and send them, cheque for rest to Drummonds for me -

What does Pawling[6] mean by the Notary re Eden[7] Case, £3-17-? - I mean why did I have a Notary in London?

I dont remember - Now as I write, it occurs to me that it may have been about swearing the evidence of Thomson[8] [p. 3] and the others? - is that it? -

I am, perhaps you will be pleased to know quite better - and dare not all the same come back for another 2 or 3 weeks because of awful cold and weather you all tell me of up there! -

And this goes instantly!

So many things to you all!

[butterfly signature]

'1901.'      Wednesday 20.


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  20 [February?] 1901
'Wednesday 20' is written by JW, and '1901' in another hand. JW was in Ajaccio in early 1901; 'Wednesday 20' could, according to the almanac, be either February or March.

2.  William Heinemann
William Heinemann (1863-1920), publisher [more].

3.  ALS
Deep mourning border.

4.  Fox
Unidentified.

5.  May's
Probably Louis-Henry May, printer [more]; he had printed Whistler, James McNeill, Eden versus Whistler: the Baronet & the Butterfly. A Valentine with a Verdict, London, 1898.

6.  Pawling
Sidney Southgate Pawling (d. 1922), business partner of the publisher W. H. Heinemann [more].

7.  Eden
Sir William Eden (1849-1915), painter and collector [more]; a dispute over ownership of Brown and Gold: Portrait of Lady Eden (YMSM 408).

8.  Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].