UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Académie Carmen, JW's visits
Record 4 of 8

System Number: 08508
Date: [2 November 1898][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: William Heinemann[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC
Document Type: ALS


ADRESSE TÉLÉGRAPHIQUE - CHATHAMEL-PARIS
NO. TÉLÉPHONIQUE 257-53

[Chatham coat of arms with motto:] BENIGNO NUMINE
HOTEL CHATHAM
PARIS

'[ca. Dec. 1898]'[3]

My own weather! and a crossing like a drive in the Bois! -

This is just a line, from "le numéro 8", to tell you again how charming you have made my visit - and how much I regret I could not have carried you back with me -

Paris looks perhaps a little less full - or gay - or something - but awfully nice - And then to be sure the endless Rue Lafayette [p. 2] never was the brightest way in!

Do post, in envelope closed the copy of the book[4] tomorrow, and ask for the last corrections, a few pages only, from Hansons[5] -

Mr. Tanner[6] will have them for me -

Now I forgot to tell you that I hear dear good Beurdeley[7] is greatly excited about the book - and deeply interested in it - Dont you think that three pretty copies might be printed off on the real paper - that I might show them in apetising [sic] state -

I suppose it would be too much to have at least one in its boards!? - Well if MacColl[8] were there he would do it for me - and in gold letters too!

I long to hear of the dinner at the Georges[9]! - I think I shall write another little letter to the Lady Betty[10]! underlining again the points -

Wednesday morning

Off to the Atelier & also Academie[11] -

Dont forget Hath[12]

A bientôt - and many things.

[butterfly signature]


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [2 November 1898]
Dated by the reference to publication (see below), the slightly misleading note in another hand, and JW's recent stay with Heinemann in London (see his letter to E. Lewis, [30 October 1898], #10982).

2.  William Heinemann
William Heinemann (1863-1920), publisher [more].

3.  '[ca. Dec. 1898]'
Added in another hand.

4.  book
Whistler, James McNeill, Eden versus Whistler: the Baronet & the Butterfly. A Valentine with a Verdict, London, 1898, or Whistler, James McNeill, Eden versus Whistler: The Baronet and the Butterfly. A Valentine with a Verdict, Paris and New York, 1899 [GM, A.24].

5.  Hansons
Hanson, possibly a printer.

6.  Mr. Tanner
Tanner, a printer, employed by W. Heinemann.

7.  Beurdeley
Paul Beurdeley (1842-after 1902), advocate at the Cour d'Appel, Paris [more].

8.  MacColl
Charles McCall (b. ca 1844- d. 1908), printer [more].

9.  Georges
Sir George Henry Lewis (1833-1911), society lawyer [more].

10.  Lady Betty
Elisabeth Lewis (1844-1931), née Eberstadt, wife of G. H. Lewis [more]. See JW's letter to her, [4 November 1898], #10985.

11.  Academie
The Académie Carmen was opened in Paris in 1898 under the name of Carmen Rossi, model, proprietess of the Académie Carmen [more], and was supervised at intervals by JW and also, at first, by Frederick William MacMonnies (1863-1937), sculptor [more]. Inez Eleanor Addams (fl. 1898-1927), née Bate, painter [more] became the women's massière. It was closed in 1901.

12.  Hath
Double underlined. This is presumably a proof correction for Whistler, James McNeill, Eden versus Whistler: the Baronet & the Butterfly. A Valentine with a Verdict, London, 1898.