UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: nocturne
Record 137 of 143

System Number: 08425
Date: 11 May 1897
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: David Croal Thomson[1]
Place: London
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC
Document Type: ALS[2]


110. Rue du Bac -

Dear Mr Thomson -

It was very nice of you to write to me - and your letter[3] was excellent! - The dinner was most amusing - but I doubt if you would have got me to go to it! -

Yes - I have been not at all well for weeks past - The change [p. 2] has done me good - though the hard cold weather has, I fancy, kept me back - and even now I am not quite what I wish to be - It is supposed that the influenza has had something to do with it - and I am still feeling very much demoralized -

Glad to hear business is so good! -

I shall be delighted to see you if I am still here when you come - in which case I daresay I should go back to town with you -

I think you are quite right about the Nocturne[4] for Mr McCullough[5] - and you can show this to my little servant Marie[6] - who will give it to you -

Marie - Vous[7] allez livrer à Monsieur Thomson, qui vous apporte ce mot, le tableau - Marine, Nocturne - qui avait été une fois caché derière les grandes toiles près la porte, et que nous avions tous cherché - Monsieur Thomson l'emportera en vous donnant un reçu [sic] -

J. McN. Whistler

Paris

le 11. Mai. 1897.

[p. 3] Write me a line to say that it is all right - and tell me any little news you may think amusing -

Pray give my love to "Evelyn"[8] and with kindest regards to yourself and Mrs Thomson[9]

Always sincerely

J McNeill Whistler


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

To
D. C. Thomson. Esq
The Goupil Galleries -
5 Regent Street
London.
Angleterre
[stamp:] POSTE / REPUBLIQUE FRANCAISE / 25
[postmark:] PARIS-20 / BD ST GERMAIN / 7E 11 / MAI / 97
[postmark on verso:] LONDON. S.W. / 28 / 7 AM / MY 12 / 97


Notes:

1.  David Croal Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

2.  ALS
The stationery has a deep mourning border. The number '30A' is written in red ink in another hand in the top left corner; the pencil note '195' is written at the lower right of p. 1, and also on the envelope.

3.  your letter
Untraced.

4.  Nocturne
Probably Nocturne in Blue and Gold: Valparaiso Bay (YMSM 76) which JW had been asked to work on.

5.  Mr. McCullough
George McCulloch (1848-1907), collector [more].

6.  Marie
Marie, a Belgian servant hired by JW in London.

7.  Vous
Fr., Marie - Please give the painting - Marine, Nocturne - to Mr Thomson, who brings you this note. It was at one time hidden behind the large canvases by the door, and we all looked for it - Mr Thomson will take it and will give you a receipt.

8.  Evelyn
Thomson's daughter, the subject of Little Evelyn (C.146).

9.  Mrs. Thomson
Alice Mary Thomson (d. 1928), née Halton, wife of D. C. Thomson [more].