The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: nationality, Scottish
Record 1 of 5

System Number: 08275
Date: [25 January 1894][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: David Croal Thomson[2]
Place: London
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 18/1507
Document Type: ALS[3]

'25 Jay 1894'

110 - Rue du Bac Paris

For one who is "on very intimate terms with Mr Whistler[4]" - and one who does "not wish to displease him", you would seem to me, my dear Mr Thomson, to furnish an excellent example of the futility of kicking against the pricks! -

For you have come to complete grief with the best of intentions!

I cannot myself easily imagine [p. 2] any course that could by its indiscretion have given me deeper displeasure, than the one you have taken -

Not only do you most unwarrantably place me in a curious light (though only for a moment) with Mr Studd[5], but you do me the honour of setting me up as a simpleton! whose eyes are ready for as much dust as you please - and dust of the quality of gravel too! -

As a Scotchman I am astonished at you! -

Do you think that all that poor stuff about "not feeling at liberty to give the information respecting the price you have paid without your consent"... misleads me? -

Mr Studd you have no concern with at all -

It is the Potters[6] - the Leatharts[7] and the rest of the hawking pedlars who trouble you - They pay the commission to the house - and therefore should not be offended -

That is what you mean by being "placed in an awkward position" [p. 3] But this you should have frankly written to me - instead of offering the contents of my letter[8] to Mr Studd before I had applied to him myself -

J McN Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


[embossed:] AU BON MARCHÈ. PARIS
D.C. Thomson Esq
The Goupil Gallery
5. Regent Street
[postmark:] PARIS 20 / 195 B[OULEVAR]D ST GERMAIN / 8E 25 / JANV / 94
[postmark on verso:] LONDON. S.W. / KN / JA 26 / 94


1.  25 January 1894
Dated from the postmark, the date written in an unknown hand on p. 1 and a dated copy of the same letter by JW, #02676.

2.  David Croal Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more]. JW quotes from Thomson's letter to Studd dated 24 January 1894, #02674, of which JW had made a copy.

3.  ALS
'59B' is written in an unknown hand in red ink at top left, '81' in pencil at bottom right of p. 1. and the same on the envelope.

4.  Mr Whistler
The quotations in this letter are from a letter from D. C. Thomson to A. H. Studd, 24 January 1894, #02674.

5.  Mr Studd
Arthur ('Peter') Haythorne Studd (1863-1919), painter and collector [more], had bought Symphony in White, No. 2: The Little White Girl (YMSM 52) and Nocturne: Blue and Silver - Cremorne Lights (YMSM 115) earlier in the month, and JW had asked Thomson what price had been paid for the paintings.

6.  Potters
John Charles Potter (1854-1920), wallpaper manufacturer and collector [more] and John Gerald Potter (1829-1908), wallpaper manufacturer and patron [more].

7.  Leatharts
James Leathart (1820-1895), collector [more]. Another letter to Thomson refers to these collectors in a similar fashion, #08275.

8.  my letter