UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: press-review
Record 40 of 71

System Number: 07776
Date: 9 September [1893][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Joseph Pennell[2]
Place: Paris
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 272/2/6
Document Type: ALS


Rue du Bac.

Saturday. Sept 9.

My dear Pennell -

We[3] have just returned - and this morning had your two letters[4] -

So it will be all right and delightful for next week - When are you coming? Let us know - and the sooner the better -

I wish you were going off in this [p. 2] sudden way to America! - By the way what news have you from Chicago[5]? - Don't forget to bring Hamertons[6] article -

No - it was only now - on our way back that the weather was at all possible - Yesterday & today the sky is fine - though threatening to end in rain - In short we were too soon - for once! Now would be the time to go to the country! -

However I must say I am glad to get back -

Always

[butterfly signature]


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

Monsieur Pennell -
Hotel D'Harcourt


Notes:

1.  9 September [1893]
Dated by reference to exhibition (see below). '[1893]' has been written in another hand at the top right of p. 1.

2.  Joseph Pennell
Joseph Pennell (1860-1926), printer and illustrator, JW's biographer [more].

3.  We
JW and Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more], newly returned from Paimpol and Brittany.

4.  two letters
Not located.

5.  Chicago
World's Columbian Exposition, Department of Fine Arts, Chicago, 1893.

6.  Hamertons
Philip Gilbert Hamerton (1834-1894), author, critic and artist [more].