The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: photograph
Record 48 of 69

System Number: 07011
Date: [20/30 October 1893][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: William McNeill Whistler[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1000
Document Type: ALS

110. Rue du Bac. Paris.

My dear Willie -

Did you get my letter some time ago about Dr Woakes and the picture[3]? .

I have not as yet had a word from any of you -

Smalpage[4] the tailor writes to ask me for the address [of Mr?] Joseph Whistler[5] whom he says I introduced!! -

I wish - well never mind but just forward the enclosed to him -

We hear you are [p. 2] all very well and having rather a good time - so that's all right! -

But what a hot bed England is becoming for these d — d Anarchist scoundrels!

By the way if you see Hanson[6] it has some how occurred to me that he is such a serious Ass that he might be led by his love of mystery and general monkeyism to disport himself at some of these accursed "clubs" - Let him have a little talk with you if he comes round, and let him understand the loathing we have for that lot -

With love to both from both of us -
Always affectionately

[butterfly signature]

Tell Mrs Sophie[7] that Trixie[8] forgot to urge her to send us the proofs of the photographs she took - but that we are longing to have them -

You ought to look in at Goupil's and let Mr Thomson[9] show you my little sea piece[10] -

Send Smalpage's letters to me as well as the bill on to Joe[11]

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [20/30 October 1893]
Dated from reference to 'sea piece' (see below).

2.  William McNeill Whistler
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

3.  Dr Woakes and the picture
Dr Edward G. Woakes (ca 1837 - d.1912), aural surgeon to the London Hospital [more], commissioned a portrait, Portrait of Miss Lilian Woakes (YMSM 393).

4.  Joseph Whistler
Probably Joseph Swift Whistler (1865-1905), art critic, JW's nephew [more].

5.  Smalpage
Smalpage & Son, tailors, 41 & 43 Maddox Street, London W; telephone no. 3858.

6.  Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

7.  Mrs Sophie
Sophia Eustratius Manuel (1853-1905), née Ionides [more], sister-in-law of Willie Whistler.

8.  Trixie
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

9.  Mr Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more]; he was manager of the Goupil Gallery.

10.  my little sea piece
'Tell ... my little sea piece' is written in left hand margin of p. 2 at right angles to the main text. Thomson was in possession of Violet and Blue: Among the Rollers (YMSM 413). See Thomson's letter to JW, 23 October 1893, #05790.

11.  on to Joe
'Send ... on to Joe' written in left hand margin of p. 1 at right angles to the main text.