UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: lithographic stump
Record 15 of 16

System Number: 06109
Date: 23 December 1893
Author: Thomas Robert Way[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W106
Document Type: ALS[2]


LITHOGRAPHIC PRINTING OFFICE,
21, WELLINGTON STREET, STRAND, W. C.
LONDON,

Decr 23rd 1893.

Dear Mr Whistler

I send you the proofs of six of the drawings, I have quite used up the dutch paper, and even with the last lot you sent we had to turn out three sheets which shewed the mildew all over directly they were damped. (You can have all these bad sheets whenever you like as I have kept them all!). Will you please be kind enough to let us know the full number you can use at one time? as with these Brittany [p. 2] we sent you 4 sets[3] on Decr 5 and very soon after you ask for 5 sets more. Now the expense and time of pulling 9 or 10 sets is very little more than pulling 4! and the risk of injuring the stones infinitely less! When I get the rest of the paper I will send you the ballance. Will you look at the old Chineese paper pulls? and tell me what you think of it? I am sorry that the result of transferring the Luxembourg drawing[4] was no better, but it is almost as good as one could expect, seing how extremely delicate and soft the stump work is. - Is there not one of the old drawings which will do for the Art Journal[5]?

[p. 3] I have put into the packet a couple of pulls of an experiment[6] in stump on stone of mine[,] they may suggest possibilities to you.

We trust you will have a very happy Xmas and that that good fortune will come solidly with the New Year, and with kindest regards from my Father[7] and me to Mrs Whistler[8] and yourself

I remain
Yours very sincerely

Tom. R. Way

J. McN. Whistler Esqre


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Thomas Robert Way
Thomas Robert Way (1861-1913), printer, lithographer and painter [more].

2.  ALS
Published in Spink, Nesta R., The Lithographs of James McNeill Whistler, gen. eds Harriet K. Stratis and Martha Tedeschi, Chicago, 1998, vol. 2, p. 85, no. 72.

3.  sets
JW ordered four proofs of each of the Brittany subjects, The Marketplace, Vitré (C.62), Vitré: The Canal (C.63), Gabled Roofs (C.64) and The Clock-Makers, Paimpol (C.65) on 3 December 1893; he received sets of proofs on 11 December, and asked for more on 15 December (#03355, #03357, #03359).

4.  Luxembourg drawing
Conversation under the Statue, Luxembourg Gardens (C.69).

5.  Art Journal
D. C. Thomson had originally suggested using Vitré: The Canal (C.63), then Conversation under the Statue, Luxembourg Gardens (C.69), and eventually they agreed on Nursemaids: 'Les Bonnes du Luxembourg' (C.81), which was printed in an edition of about 3000 and published in The Art Journal, vol. 46, no. 120, December 1894.

6.  experiment
This may have been another attempt by T. R.Way to reproduce one of JW's pastels, and if so it would probably have been one owned by his father, probably r.: The Blue Girl; v.: Curtain (M.521), which was reproduced in lithography by T. R. Way and published in The Studio, vol. 31, no. 132, March 1904; see Spink, 1998, op. cit.

7.  Father
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more].

8.  Mrs Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].