UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: nocturne
Record 129 of 143

System Number: 05823
Date: 3 August 1895
Author: David Croal Thomson[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler T168
Document Type: ALS


DARTMOUTH TOWER,
HIGHGATE. N. W.
Dovercourt -

Augt 3d. 1895

Dear Mr Whistler,

I am in this place at the sea side with my youngsters but return to town on Tuesday.

I simply told the buyer[2] of the portrait[3] you considered the picture fully signed & he accepted your statement like a gentleman. There was no di[s]cussion nor indeed any need of one.

[p. 2] Perhaps he will some day buy a nocturne - possibly that one G. M.[4] has been speaking of in the 'Speaker'.

I am sorry I thought "O" K[5]. a good Scot - In any case he is a very nice fellow -

Mentioning him reminds me that at the train on the 1st when coming here a letter was brought to me from Dignam's brother[6]. This asked me to tell the Father whose address in Dublin he gave, where Michael Dignam[7] is at present. I gave very precise [p. 3] directions to my assistant who brought the letter to the station, how to find it out & I hope this has been done satisfactorily.

Am I still to do what is possible for M. D. if he turns up - I will, if you would like it, but I thought before you wanted it otherwise.

Sarasate[8]. I believe I know where there is a photo - & I will look it up at once on my return -

Alma Tademas[9] address was at South Kensington not R. A. & I send it herewith. I cut it out for you but in the extreme pressure of [p. 4] the last few days I have not been able to send it on -

Peacock Room[10]. Have you any other means, besides through me, of finding out if Mrs Watney[11] means to dismantle the famous room. I noticed builders [poles?] up round the house the day I left London. I do not want to alarm you, but I am rather uneasy about it. What can we do in the matter?

R. s. v. p.[12] à Regent St - et acceptez cher Monsieur l'assurance de mes sentiments les plus distingués

D. C. Thomson


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  David Croal Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more]. This is a reply to JW's letter of [30 July 1895], #08307.

2.  buyer
George McCulloch (1848-1907), collector [more].

3.  portrait
The new owner had requested that JW sign his name upon Arrangement in Grey: Portrait of the Painter (YMSM 122); JW had refused, saying it was already signed.

4.  G. M.
George Moore (1852-1933), novelist and art critic [more].

5.  O" K
Edward Guthrie Kennedy (1849-1932), dealer with H. Wunderlich and Co., New York [more]. He had been nicknamed O'K by Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

6.  Dignam's brother
Not identified.

7.  Michael Dignam
Michael J. Hoey Dignam (fl. 1893), illustrator [more]. At JW's request, Thomson had found him some work as an illustrator.

8.  Sarasate
Arrangement in Black: Portrait of Señor Pablo de Sarasate (YMSM 315).

9.  Alma Tademas
Lawrence Alma-Tadema (1836-1912), painter [more]. See JW's letter to the Pall Mall Gazette, [7 August 1895], #10852.

10.  Peacock Room
Harmony in Blue and Gold: The Peacock Room (YMSM 178); it was not dismantled at this time.

11.  Mrs Watney
Blanche Marie Georgiana Watney (1837?-1915), of the brewing family [more]; she had bought the house in Princes Gate that housed the Peacock Room.

12.  R. s. v. p. ... distingués
Fr., Please reply to Regent Street - and accept dear Sir the assurance of my most distinguished feelings.