The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: lithography prices
Record 14 of 76

System Number: 05794
Date: 7 December 1893
Author: David Croal Thomson[1]
Place: London
Recipient: Beatrix Whistler[2]
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler T139
Document Type: ALS

[Royal coat of arms]



7 Dec. 1893.

Dear Mrs Whistler,

We have received the 3 sets of Fine New Lithographs with very many thanks. They are exquisitely charming & satisfying to the artistic sense.

The prices are we understand two guineas each with the exception of [p. 2] the seated figure[3] - the upright figure[4] bien entendu[5]? - is £3- 3/- - what a wonderful piece it is -

I asked Mr Whistler about the discount he allows us. Quite faithfully 15% does not pay us & we ought to have 25% as we pay cash &c &c - Now I know that other people ask £3- 3/- for the black & white lithos & £4- 4/- for the coloured ones but this hinders business for £2- 2/- is a fair price at this moment. The question I would ask Mr Whistler to consider [p. 3] is: can he allow us 25% discount or does he object to our asking one guinea [f?] more than his price - The latter is not right, but we have to put on mounts back & front & this cost us about 1/6 & our whole commission is 4/- for we have to give - & have given 5% discount for each[.] It is in Mr Whistlers interest for you to know all this & to consider if he is not better to dispose of a larger number less 25% than a select few at 15%.

[p. 4] Of the former lithographs - 2 colour[6] & three four monotone - Mr Whistler is still due us one set. On Oct 7th[7] & 23d we paid you £50 in all (£12. 10 & 37. 10/-) for Four Sets and we have only received 3 sets in all & one design not charg[e]able (Mr Sickert[8] says) sent to Mr Pennell[9]

Business is simply stagnant & we have done nothing in Glasgow[10], although we had crowds to visit us.

Our new gallery here is very nice & well lighted

Yours very truly

D. C. Thomson


Mrs Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  David Croal Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

2.  Beatrix Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

3.  seated figure
The Draped Figure, Seated (C.72).

4.  upright figure
Probably Draped Model, Standing (C.74).

5.  bien entendu
Fr., it is understood.

6.  colour
Such as Draped Figure, Reclining (C.56) and Yellow House, Lannion (C.67).

7.  Oct 7th
These dates do not match surviving correspondence: on 19 October 1893 Thomson sent JW a cheque for £25 and ordered more lithographs, #05789; JW replied on 11 October 1893, disagreeing about the prices of his lithographs, #08246.

8.  Mr Sickert
Walter Richard Sickert (1860-1942), artist and writer on art [more].

9.  Mr Pennell
Joseph Pennell (1860-1926), printer and illustrator, JW's biographer [more].

10.  Glasgow
[Exhibition], Boussod, Valadon et Cie., Goupil Gallery, London, at Wellington Studios, Glasgow, 1893.