The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: illustration
Record 9 of 17

System Number: 05040
Date: 1 October 1894
Author: Frances Gerard Prange[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P680
Document Type: ALS

1 Octbr 1894

[crown over crest with rose, and words:] THE REFORM CLUB

Mon cher Maitre,

Just got yr's crossing my feeble plaint of yesterday.

Guinchard & [Fournuit?] are the packers, 76 Rue Blanche[.] I write them today.

I abound in your sense, re correspondance - sometimes "the right hand drops the pen"

You will see what I have written about the new "habitat" = I shall be in Paris soon and till [p. 2] [...][2] my dear maitre - Ar-[chie]'s[3] "Shooting with his [...]roe" "I would I had [...] of luck & I'd do [...]

[...] yrs

F G Prange

[...] [pos = from com [...] l'apurami Madine?] [...]

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Frances Gerard Prange
Francis Gerard Prange (b. ca 1843), London art dealer [more].

2.  [...]
A strip has been torn from the left hand side of page two with the loss of words from around eight lines of text. The final line of text is illegible, incomplete and incomprehensible; it may be written in Spanish (apurare, Sp., it will worry).

3.  Ar-[chie]'s
Archibald James Stuart-Wortley (1849-1905), painter, first President of the Society of Portrait Painters [more]. He wrote and illustrated works on hunting, i.e. FUR, FEATHER & FIN, The Grouse, 1894. p. 293, illustrated by A. J. Stuart-Wortley and A. Thorburn. A photogravure of Stuart-Wortley's painting Partridge Driving was published on 1 February 1894 by Henry Graves & Co.