The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: law
Record 273 of 280

System Number: 04831
Date: [8 November 1901][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Rosalind Birnie Philip[2]
Place: Paris
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P471
Document Type: ALS

[monogram in a roundel:] W H[3]



Major my dear, I think the letter this morning from Kelly[4] is most satisfactory! - and we are rid of "that gentleman" as you say -

I see you have "Miss Somebody" in quotations - do you mean that he really said "Miss Somebody" to the poor woman he was cackling with? -

Well he was a fine Ass! - The dilletante cultured ass of the Island! - quel type[5]!! -

I wish you could both look in upon me [p. 2] this moment - in this very superior British Inn!

Mr Webb[6] has come in - and business is serious -

1st. you see by enclosed from Kelly that that matter is complete & you may tear up the letter you hold. Just go to Boddington[7] now as if he had always had the whole affair to conduct as he has now - Warn him about Carmen's[8] coming, though I think anyone could see at the same time the blustering peasant. Tell him of what Jeanne[9] has said about the other Italians carrying off under cloaks & petticoats etc.. This is new to me, and full of colour! most important - also these conversations with the "faithful"[10] -

They have already sent for Carmen but not yet seen her -

[p. 3] Webb wants you to send back the letters from Kelly -

Cheque. I have not Thil's[11] amount! - How much is it?. for I am, you know, a prisoner! The doctor wont let me go out this week - Have you your cheque on Munroe[12] still untouched? I might send them £100. & you could make out your cheque to the amount - & either pay it in money, or ask the Munroe how to endorse the cheque to be made payable to Thil -

I don't know how I stand - Most important is that I should have copy of my accounts with Credit Lyonnais[13], Munroe and of course Drummonds[14] for the Reid Trial - So you will take the two letters, I will send you, to the Paris banks - Meanwhile I fear I must have overdrawn Munroe's - perhaps badly...

Let this go first with love to my two ladies[15]. - for I am driven! driven!

the General.

More tomorrow - & take care of yourselves

Am[16] sending tonight cheque by Munroe - risky! -

Write a line Thil may be told that I am un peu souffrant, but his cheque will be sent directly

You can now always go to Munroes with quite the certainty of a New Yorkaise swell! as the Ward lady - f. f. V. rather! - only I mean really in case of any sudden requirement go at once - I mean not withstanding overdrawals - Will send you more cheques -

This document is protected by copyright.


'NOV 8th 1901'[17]

Mademoiselle Birnie-Philip
110. Rue du Bac -
Faubourg St Germain
[stamp:] POSTAGE / REVENUE / 4 D
[postmark:] CONTINENTAL NIGHT MAIL / C. X. / * / NO 8 / 01
[postmark on verso:] 9 PARIS 9 / DISTRIBUTION / 7 * / 8 - 11 / 01


1.  [8 November 1901]
Dated from the postmark. This is a reply to her letter of 7 November 1901, #04830.

2.  Rosalind Birnie Philip
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more]. JW called her 'Major' and himself 'General'.

3.  W H
The monogram of William Heinemann (1863-1920), publisher [more]. Although this is written upon Heinemann's personal stationery, JW was actually staying in Tallant's Hotel, 20, North Audley Street, London.

4.  Kelly
Kelly, lawyer, partner in Boddington and Kelly. His letter has not been located .

5.  quel type
Fr., What a sort!

6.  Mr Webb
William Webb (b. ca 1851), of G. and W. Webb, lawyer [more].

7.  Boddington
Oliver Eaton Bodington (1859-after 1936), barrister and author [more].

8.  Carmen's
Carmen Rossi, model, proprietess of the Académie Carmen [more]. She was suspected of stealing works from JW's studio.

9.  Jeanne
Jeanne, possibly a servant of JW in Paris.

10.  the faithful
Inez Eleanor Addams (fl. 1898-1927), née Bate, painter [more].

11.  Thil's
André Thil (fl. 1877-1901), JW's landlord at 110 rue du Bac, Paris [more]; JW was giving up the house.

12.  Munroe

13.  Credit Lyonnais

14.  Drummonds
George James Drummond (1835-1917), banker [more].

15.  two ladies
Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more]; and Frances Philip (1824-1917), née Black, JW's mother-in-law [more].

16.  Am
'Am ... risky! -' is written in the left margin of p. 1, 'Write ... directly' in the left margin of p. 2, and 'You can ... cheques -' at the top of p. 2.

17.  'NOV 8th 1901'
Date written on the envelope in another hand.