UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: law
Record 266 of 280

System Number: 04827
Date: 6 November [1901][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Rosalind Birnie Philip[2]
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P467
Document Type: ALS


Wednesday. Nov. 6.

Studio

Here Major I have just come upon these 25 centimes! which suggest a sax penny side - & so I send them on. -

You will have had this morning, a line with the little key of- This longer letter was late - I suppose you will get it this evening -

I have written to you nearly every day, excepting Sunday, No one of my letters have you acknowledged.

This is troubling because with the uncertainties [p. 2] of the post, one wonders -

Better always begin by saying that you have or have not received, etc....

Yours of yesterday then, left you in doubt about Jeanne[3] - This my dear Major, I think, need scarcely have been an affair with you of much hesitation. If Kelly[4] wants Jeanne to question - or indeed suggests anything else, as "guiding friend & Solicitor," unless you find any strong instinct against it, Major, surely Bunnie[5] & you together are quite sufficient to decide. Besides have I not told Kelly that he is to consult with the Ward lady!

Mr Webb[6] just arrives - Have send your letter - Excellent! You are quite right about Kelly - Pompous, pretentious - and, as usual, Attempting false position - British type! Now we are going to try and take the matter out of his hands & put it into Boddington's[7]. but without offending or making difficulties between two partners and getting no good out of either -

Mr Webb is writing you a letter - & I am going to write one to Kelly -

After all it seems to me that Boddington must be the head of the firm. It used to be Boddington & Alexander[8] - Alexander left, and there came Kelly - so it must be Bodding[ton] & Kelly -

I daresay that Bunnie will find old account of theirs - which by the way is paid so it will probably be the receipt - Webb has written you a capital letter - and you must accept his little jokelet, for I believe he is very fond of you!!. & likes your letter - You must ask for Boddington, & be sure you [p. 3] tell him, that we want him really to have the case - and that it was to him I actually came - Also he knows Ratier[9] and also knows me of old -

I have written to Kelly and send you copy -

Herewith too the OK[10] letter, and the papers from Ratier entrusted to him -

You might tell Mrs Addams[11] to see Carmen[12] and say that Monsieur is astonished that she has not kept her promise of writing to him, & that she had better do so - Of course the devoted Apprentice will not say that she saw you -

This must be said, not written.

Shall[13] send cheque for Thil[14] through you - when Boddington says it is to be sent -

Things[15] very nice to both -

the General


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

'NOV. 6th. 1901'[16]

[registered letter:] 'Miss Philip[17]
110 Rue du Bac
Faubourg St Germain
Paris'
[stamp:] POSTAGE & REVENUE / 2 D
[stamp:] POSTAGE / & REVENUE / 10
[postmark:] TOTTENHAM COURT R[OA]D / W. / * / NO 6 / 01
[postmark on verso:] 9 PARIS 9 / DISTRIBUTION / 13 * / 7-11 / 01

[verso, black wax with seal of Whistler's butterfly signature impressed in it]



Notes:

1.  6 November [1901]
Year dated from the postmark.

2.  Rosalind Birnie Philip
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more]. JW called her 'Major' and himself 'General'.

3.  Jeanne
Jeanne, possibly a servant of JW in Paris.

4.  Kelly
Kelly, lawyer, partner in Boddington and Kelly.

5.  Bunnie
Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].

6.  Mr Webb
William Webb (b. ca 1851), of G. and W. Webb, lawyer [more].

7.  Boddington
Oliver Eaton Bodington (1859-after 1936), barrister and author [more].

8.  Alexander
Henry Addison Alexander, notary and advocate [more].

9.  Ratier
Antoine ('Antony') Ratier (b. 1851), lawyer and politician [more].

10.  OK
Edward Guthrie Kennedy (1849-1932), dealer with H. Wunderlich and Co., New York [more].

11.  Mrs Addams
Inez Eleanor Addams (fl. 1898-1927), née Bate, painter [more].

12.  Carmen
Carmen Rossi, model, proprietess of the Académie Carmen [more].

13.  Shall ... to be sent
This sentence is written in the left margin of p. 1.

14.  Thil
André Thil (fl. 1877-1901), JW's landlord at 110 rue du Bac, Paris [more].

15.  Things ... General
The remainder of the letter is written in the left margin of p. 3.

16.  'NOV. 6th. 1901'
Written in another hand.

17.  Miss Philip
The address is written in another hand.