UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: social
Record 38 of 51

System Number: 04732
Date: [7 July 1898][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Rosalind Birnie Philip[2]
Place: Paris
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P372
Document Type: ALS[3]


My dear Major -

I was a bit disturbed in my mind about you over there! both yourself & your mother[4] -

Not that you suffer much from heat in the house - but you are not well and ought to be away from the cares of the place. -

What do you think? - Also it is a pity that there should be a trouble and anxiety about anything -

I have just had your letter - I dont think I would settle down to "papers" up to your elbows just now - You might perhaps post me the long envelope with "Private papers" on it, if you put your hand upon it at once - but I would let the rest of it alone for the present -

You had better get the house into the state in which you can shut it up and come away and rest - both you and your mother -

[p. 3] Write me at once how this could be best done -

I am going with Mr Webb[5] on the barge tomorrow but shall be back on Monday - and soon shall get through here and make for the sea -

I wonder if it would be possible to leave Euphrasie[6] in the house - to take care of it? with her husband[7]? - but I suppose that might not do -

Especially I want to know about the result of Rouvieres[8] call upon the Saleron[9] at [p. 4] you must send for him and say that Monsieur wants to know all about it - and if Monsieur Thil[10] had been told - I gave Rouviere an extra five franc tip the other morning when I left - & he should be very devoted!

Tell me now how soon this could be managed and then you had better both come over here first and start from here to some place you would like and the girls can go down & see you - Your native air would set you up again & blow all the cobwebs away

With best messages, Always

the General -

Breutzel[11] had better send at once my little suit to Heinemanns[12] as he knows that address [13]-


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

'JULY 7th - 1898'

à
Mademoiselle Birnie-Philip
110. Rue du Bac -
Paris
France
[stamp:] POSTAGE & REVENUE / ONE HALFPENNY
[stamp:] POSTAGE & REVENUE / 6d
[postmark:] CONTINENTAL NIGHT MAIL / JY 7 / 98


Notes:

1.  [7 July 1898]
Dated from the postmark. Date also added in an unknown hand on the envelope.

2.  Rosalind Birnie Philip
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more]. JW called her 'Major' and himself 'General'.

3.  ALS
The stationery has a deep mourning border.

4.  your mother
Frances Philip (1824-1917), née Black, JW's mother-in-law [more].

5.  Mr Webb
William Webb (b. ca 1851), of G. and W. Webb, lawyer [more]. His 'barge' was a yacht (see #04733).

6.  Euphrasie
Euphrasie, JW's servant at 110 Rue du Bac.

7.  her husband
Not identified.

8.  Rouvieres
Rouvière, a servant or concièrge at 110 rue du Bac.

9.  Saleron
Mme Saleron, JW's neighbour at 110 rue du Bac [more]. She had been indulging in anti-social behaviour, beating her carpets into JW's garden.

10.  Monsieur Thil
André Thil (fl. 1877-1901), JW's landlord at 110 rue du Bac, Paris [more].

11.  Breutzel
Breutzel, possibly a servant.

12.  Heinemanns
William Heinemann (1863-1920), publisher [more].

13.  as he knows that address
'as he knows that address' is written in the left margin at right angles to the main text.