The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: sculpture
Record 20 of 26

System Number: 04687
Date: [3 December 1896][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Rosalind Birnie Philip[2]
Place: Paris
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P327
Document Type: ALS[3]

8. Fitzroy Street -

All right my dear Major - Possibly I shall go down to Tite Street tonight and look at the boys[4] work again - He is going on delightfully - and Gilbert[5] is charmed with him - regretting only he was not at it long ago! - However he seems to have [p. 2] inherited so completely! from Trixie[6], that he will doubtless make up for lost time -

I am worried enough - but money curiously enough seems to come in - and Bunnies little picture[7] is sold! - though not as yet paid for! - Pleasant little paragraphs enclosed! pleasant for George Moore[8] & the Baronet[9] -

"My news!" - Where I was at! -

the Correspondence with Committee of Portrait Painter's Society[10] -

That is as far as I can go now -

Letter from Rothenstein[11], concerning Baronets painting hanging in New English Art Club - and answer must wait - All the better - give time for this first to be thoroughly enjoyed -

You have never said by the way a word about the Sickert[12] and his little ending -

Have sent cheque to Thil[13] -

With kindest messages to you all

the General

This document is protected by copyright.


'Dec: 3. 96'

Mademoiselle Birnie-Philip.
aux soins de
Monsieur McNeill Whistler
110. Rue du Bac -
Paris -
[stamp x 2:] POSTAGE AND REVENUE / 2½d
[postmark:] [CONTINENTAL NIGHT MAIL?] / DE 3 / 96
[verso:] 'Chicago'[14]


1.  3 December 1896
Dated from the postmark. The date was also added later by the recipient on the envelope.

2.  Rosalind Birnie Philip
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more]. JW called her 'Major' and himself 'General'.

3.  ALS
The letter has a deep mourning border.

4.  boys
Edward Godwin (b. 1876), son of Beatrix and E. W. Godwin; JW's step-son [more].

5.  Gilbert
Alfred Gilbert (1854-1934), sculptor [more].

6.  Trixie
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more]. She had died in July.

7.  Bunnies little picture
This picture has not been identified. Small portraits of Ethel like Miss Ethel Philip Reading (YMSM 417) are outnumbered by life-size full lengths.

8.  George Moore
George Moore (1852-1933), novelist and art critic [more].

9.  Baronet
Sir William Eden (1849-1915), painter and collector [more].

10.  Portrait Painter's Society
The Society of Portrait Painters (see #07135).

11.  Rothenstein
William Rothenstein (1872-1945), artist [more].

12.  Sickert
Walter Richard Sickert (1860-1942), artist and writer on art [more].

13.  Thil
André Thil (fl. 1877-1901), JW's landlord at 110 rue du Bac, Paris [more].

14.  'Chicago'
Probably written by the recipient.