The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: sculpture
Record 19 of 26

System Number: 04684
Date: [25 November 1896][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Rosalind Birnie Philip[2]
Place: Paris
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P324
Document Type: ALS[3]

'Nov. 25. 96.'

My dear Major -

I had your letter all right this morning - and here is cheque -

I am sending this off from Dhu House[4] where I looked in to see how they were all getting on -

So you must wait for further account of battle and scalps[5] until next time -

[p. 2] Teddie[6] is going on capitally and I am greatly pleased with him -

As to Constant[7] that will be all right - I daresay Louise[8] is a bit blue without him - Perhaps I may send him over or run over myself soon - but I am very much entangled just now - We will see -

I am sorry your Mama[9] has not been so well lately - Tell her from me though, that if she suffers from cold in [p. 3] Paris, where at least the Calorifere is not unknown, I cannot think what she would do here - where if you take off your overcoat - - - - - - - to say nothing of the bitter black of every day's blackness! -

Off this goes! -

With best messages to you both

the General.

This document is protected by copyright.


[Registered letter:]


Mademoiselle Burnie-Philip
aux soins de
Monsieur McNeill Whistler
110. Rue du Bac -
[postmark:] REGISTERED / . W. D. O. / NO 25 96
[postmark:] SOUTH WESTERN DISTRICT / A / NO 25 / 96 / SW
[postmark on verso:] 9 PAIS 9 / DISTRIBUTION / 1 / 27 / NOV / 96

[on verso:]

'Nov. 25 1896'


1.  25 November 1896
The postmark confirms the date written on both letter and envelope by the recipient. The watermark also reads '1896'.

2.  Rosalind Birnie Philip
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more]. JW called her 'Major' and himself 'General'.

3.  ALS
The stationery has a mourning border.

4.  Dhu House
The home of the Birnie Philips in Chelsea.

5.  battle and scalps
Disputes arising mainly from JW's clash with Sir William Eden over Brown and Gold: Portrait of Lady Eden (YMSM 408) (see #04683).

6.  Teddie
Edward Godwin (b. 1876), son of Beatrix and E. W. Godwin; JW's step-son [more]. He was training as a sculptor.

7.  Constant
T. C. J. Constant, JW's servant and valet [more].

8.  Louise
Louise, JW's servant at 110 rue du Bac [more].

9.  Mama
Frances Philip (1824-1917), née Black, JW's mother-in-law [more].

10.  Registered
Triple underlined. The envelope was registered, presumably to ensure the safe arrival of the cheque.

11.  5.80
This sum was written probably by the recipient.