The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: photograph
Record 54 of 69

System Number: 04667
Date: [10 September 1896][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Rosalind Birnie Philip[2]
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P307
Document Type: ALS[3]

'Sept 10. 96.'[4]

My dear Major -

I think I shall get off on Saturday morning - probably taking the boat to Boulogne and going to a little place called Étaples, close by - Then I may stay, or come along the coast to Calais and little villages in the neighbourhood -

Possibly may send a wire telling you to [p. 2] pack me off Constant[5] - In that case he is to bring me a little package of the panels I have in the studio - or there may be some in the closet in the hall - you know, by the dining room -

You know what I mean - the usual grey panels[6], of about the medium size - he had better have one or two sizes - I can cut them down - perhaps about a dozen or so in all -

Where is my straw hat? - You might wire tomorrow morning - just one word to say studio - or hat box? - Telegraph
Whistler. Sunlocks. London.
that is Heinemann's[7] business address -

Miss Kinsella[8] might be written to not to come back until she hears from me -

You can write one more letter to me tomorrow - (address the letter. Care of Mr. Heinemann 4. Whitehall Court - London -) telling me of any thing pressing you require - money.

Tell Bunnie[9] that I am going to [p. 3] write to her thanking her for the photographs & things -

Love to you all - How are you? - I hope your Mama[10] is quite French by this time! -

Always affectly

J McN. Whistler

Upon reflection I enclose cheque, which you can fill in -

The "credit Lyonnais" is right, isn't it? -

If any mistake, keep the cheque, explain in your letter, & I will send another -

Thursday -

This document is protected by copyright.


[registered letter:] Registered[11]

'Sept 10 1896'

Mademoiselle Birnie-Philip.
aux soins de
Monsieur Whistler -
110. Rue du Bac
[stamp:] POSTAGE 4½d
[postmark:] TOTTENHAM / A / SP 10 / 96
[postmark:] REGISTERED / W. D. O. / 3 PM / 10 SP 96
[postmark on verso:] PARIS DISTRIBUTION / [10?] 11 / SEPT / [9] 6


1.  10 September 1896
Dated from the postmark.

2.  Rosalind Birnie Philip
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more]. JW called her 'Major'.

3.  ALS
The stationery has a deep mourning border.

4.  'Sept 10. 96.'
The date was added later in pencil by R. B. Philip.

5.  Constant
T. C. J. Constant, JW's servant and valet [more].

6.  grey panels
JW had thin mahoganny panels ready primed and prepared with a thin light grey background. They were used for his small oil paintings.

7.  Heinemann's
William Heinemann (1863-1920), publisher [more].

8.  Miss Kinsella
Louise Kinsella (d. 1923), patron of JW [more], posed for Rose et vert: L'Iris - Portrait of Miss Kinsella (YMSM 420).

9.  Bunnie
Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].

10.  Mama
Frances Philip (1824-1917), née Black, JW's mother-in-law [more].

11.  Registered
Double underlined.