The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: illustration
Record 16 of 17

System Number: 03774
Date: [March/April 1899][1]
Author: Geneviève Mallarmé[2]
Place: Paris
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler M108
Document Type: ALS[3]

Paris. 89 rue de Rome

Cher Monsieur Whistler

Nous commençons à nous occuper activement, avec Monsieur Dujardin[4], de la chère publication projetée et j'ose venir vous parler du petit dessin dont, cet hiver, vous avez bien voulu nous accorder l'amicale promesse.

[p. 2] Ce serait en mai que nous serions heureux de l'avoir si vous étiez prêt, cher Monsieur Whistler.

J'ai beaucoup regretté l'autre jour de n'avoir point trouvé Mademoiselle Philips[5]. J'aurais voulu avoir de vos nouvelles car on nous a dit que vous aviez été souffrant.

Maman[6] a eu la grippe, voilà six semaines, et elle ne peut s'en remettre, [p. 3] elle tousse encore.

Toutes deux nous vous apportons, cher Monsieur Whistler, et nous vous prions de les partager autour de vous, nos amitiés profondes.

Geneviève Mallarmé

This document is protected by copyright.


Dear Mr Whistler

We are beginning to keep ourselves busy, alongside Mr Dujardin, working on the dear upcoming publication and I dare to approach you to speak of the little drawing which, this winter, you were so kind as to promise us in friendship.

[pg. 2] We would be delighted to have it by May if you were ready, dear Mr Whistler.

I very much regretted having been unable to find Mademoiselle Philips the other day. I would have liked to have had news of you for we were told that you were suffering.

Mama has had the flu for six weeks now, and she cannot recover from it, [p.3 ] she is still coughing.

We both bring to you, dear Mr Whistler, our heartfelt friendly greetings, and we beg you to share them with those around you.

Geneviève Mallarmé


1.  [March/April 1899]
Dated by Barbier (see below).

2.  Geneviève Mallarmé
Stephanie Françoise Geneviève Mallarmé (1864-1919), later Mme Bonniot [more].

3.  ALS
The paper has a deep mourning border. The letter was published by Barbier, Carl P., ed., Correspondance Mallarmé-Whistler: Histoire de la grande amitié de leurs dernières années, Paris, 1964 [GM, A.28], no. CLXXI, p. 293.

4.  Monsieur Dujardin
Édouard Dujardin (1861-1949), novelist and poet, editor of the Revue Indépendante [more], who proposed to publish an edition of Mallarmé's work illustrated by several artists including JW; see the original proposal, #03773. JW contributed an etching but the project was abandoned.

5.  Mademoiselle Philips
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more].

6.  Maman
Marie Mallarmé (b. 1835), née Gerhard, wife of Stéphane Mallarmé [more].