The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: health (JW)
Record 157 of 172

System Number: 03568
Date: [8/15 August 1902][1]
Author: JW
Place: [The Hague]
Recipient: Charles James Singleton[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 8/23
Document Type: ALS[3]

My dear Charlie -

I suppose you [are] back in town and hard at the Coronation[4]! -

It was so nice of you to send at once the telegram[5]. But you have of course seen, first the miserable little article in the Morning Post[6] - and then my letter - ? -

It was in the paper of Aug. 6. - Get it if you have missed it - and you will be delighted too I am sure with a leader they have [p. 2] written upon it -

We have come away, from the hotel but only moved a couple of doors off - so that you have no need to learn a new address!

Mind you send me anything you see in any paper - Cut it out & send it on! -

With kindest regards,
Always affectly

J Mc:Neill Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [8/15 August 1902]
Dated from references to the Coronation and to the Morning Post (see notes below). JW had been very ill at the Hague in July and August 1902.

2.  Charles James Singleton
Charles James Singleton, Jr (1841-1918), accountant [more].

3.  ALS
Written on lined thin paper.

4.  Coronation
The coronation of Albert Edward Saxe-Coburg (1841-1910), H.R.H. The Prince of Wales [more] took place on 9 August 1902.

5.  telegram

6.  Morning Post
Whistler, James McNeill, 'Latest Bulletin From Mr. Whistler,' The Morning Post, 6 August 1902. See JW's letter, 7 August 1902, #09329.